4 Managers With Most EFL Cups After Jurgen Klopp Won His Second Trophy With Liverpool

4 Managers With Most EFL Cups After Jurgen Klopp Won His Second Trophy With Liverpool

Elijah Odetokun
February 26, 2024 at 11:52 AM
In this article:
English EFL Trophy logo
ENG EFL Trophy
Chelsea logo
Liverpool logo
Manchester City logo
Manchester City
Manchester United logo
Manchester United
  • Liverpool beat Chelsea 1-0 to win the 2024 Carabao Cup
  • Virgil van Dijk scored a late winner from a corner kick
  • It was Jurgen Klopp’s second trophy in the competition

Jurgen Klopp guided Liverpool to the 2023/24 Carabao Cup victory over Chelsea at Wembley Stadium, thanks to Virgil van Dijk’s late header from Kostas Tsimikas’ corner.

It was the German manager’s second triumph in the competition, with his previous victory coming in 2022 against the same opponent with an 11-10 penalty shootout win.

Jurgen Klopp, Pep Lijnders, Liverpool, Chelsea, Carabao Cup, Wembley Stadium.
Jurgen Klopp lifts the Carabao after Liverpool beat Chelsea in the 2024 final at Wembley Stadium. Photo by Andrew Kearns.
Source: Getty Images

Sports Brief looks at the managers with the most trophies in the EFL Cup, all of whom have won four each.

Managers with most League Cup wins

Pep Guardiola

Anything Pep Guardiola does, he does it remarkably. The Manchester City manager has won the trophy four times. Per Transfermarkt, he did so in consecutive years between 2018 and 2021, beating different opponents: Arsenal, Chelsea, Aston Villa and Tottenham.

Jose Mourinho

The Special One is also a four-time winner of the League Cup. He won three at Chelsea and one at Manchester United. Per Iconic Mourinho, the Blues have won the trophy three times in the last 25 years; all three have come with the Portuguese manager.

Sir Alex Ferguson

Sir Alex Ferguson, the most successful manager in English football, also picked up the trophy four times during his extensive stay at Manchester United. Per Transfermarkt, he went on a drought of 14 years between 1992 and 2006.

Brian Clough

The legendary Brian Clough led Nottingham Forest to victory in the League Cup four times. He also won their two European Cups (UEFA Champions League). He passed away in 2004, aged 69.

Klopp’s two trophies leave him behind George Graham and Bob Paisley with three each. He is tied with seven other managers on two, including former Manchester City boss Manuel Pellegrini. Arsene Wenger never won the competition.

Liverpool extend EFL Cup lead

Sports Brief reported on Liverpool extending their EFL Cup record after winning their 10th trophy after a 1-0 victory over Chelsea.

The Reds were nine-time winners of the competition before yesterday’s final. They are now 10 times champions, two ahead of closest challengers Manchester City, who have won it eight times.

Elijah Odetokun photo
Elijah Odetokun
Elijah Odetokun is Reuters-trained journalist with three years of experience having previously worked at Daily Times Nigeria, OmaSports and El Futbolero.
Jose MourinhoJürgen KloppPep Guardiola