Liverpool’s 10 League Cup Titles: Reds Extend EFL Cup Record With 2024 Carabao Cup Win vs Chelsea

Liverpool’s 10 League Cup Titles: Reds Extend EFL Cup Record With 2024 Carabao Cup Win vs Chelsea

Joel Reyes
February 26, 2024 at 3:50 AM
In this article:
Liverpool logo
Mohamed Salah logo
M. Salah
Liverpool logoFEgypt logo
Virgil van Dijk logo
V. van Dijk
Liverpool logoDNetherlands logo
Darwin Nuñez logo
Liverpool logoFUruguay logo
English Carabao Cup logo
  • Liverpool defeated Chelsea on Sunday to win the 2024 Carabao Cup
  • The Reds hold the record for the most League Cup championships
  • They won their 10th title following a late goal by Virgil van Dijk

Liverpool are Carabao Cup champions once again.

The Reds won their 10th League Cup title with a thrilling 1-0 victory over Chelsea on Sunday at Wembley Stadium.

Sports Brief looks at how Liverpool amassed a record number of EFL Cup championships in their storied history.

Liverpool, Carabao Cup, League Cup, EFL Cup, Premier League, Mohamed Salah, Jurgen Klopp, Darwin Nunez, Chelsea
Liverpool players and staff celebrate after they win the 2024 Carabao Cup. Image: James Gill.
Source: Getty Images

Liverpool's 10 League Cup championships


The Reds currently hold the most number of League Cup titles, winning the championship 10 times.

Liverpool won the EFL Cup for the first time in 1981, beating West Ham in an epic final.

The Reds looked like they clinched the title when Alan Kennedy scored in the 118th minute. Ray Stewart scored a dramatic equaliser for the Hammers a couple of minutes later in extra time, however, to force a replay.

West Ham had a dream start in the rematch, with Paul Goddard scoring the opening goal in the fifth minute. The Reds battled back, though, with Kenny Dalglish and Alan Hansen scoring in a three-minute span just before the half-hour mark.

Those goals proved to be the difference, with Liverpool recording a 2-1 win.


Liverpool successfully defended their League Cup title in the 1981-82 season, beating Tottenham 3-1 in the final.

Spurs took an early 1-0 lead, with Steve Archibald scoring the opener in the 11th minute. The Reds once again showed their flair for the dramatic, with Ronnie Whelan scoring a late equaliser in the 87th minute.

Whelan also starred in extra time, giving Liverpool the lead in the 111th minute. Ian Rush sealed the win with a goal in the 119th minute.


Liverpool became the first team to win the League Cup three straight times, beating Manchester United 2-1 in the 1983 final.

The Reds once again came from behind to win the title. Alan Kennedy tied the match for Liverpool in the 75th minute before Whelan sealed the victory with a spectacular goal in extra time.


The Reds made even more history in the 1983-84 season, completing a rare League Cup four-peat.

Liverpool accomplished the feat after beating Everton 1-0 in a replay of their final. Graeme Souness scored the game's lone goal in the 21st minute.


Liverpool went on a title drought in the League Cup after winning four in a row in the 1980s.

The Reds waited 11 years to win their fifth EFL Cup title, capturing the championship in the 1994-95 season. Steve McManaman starred for the Merseyside club in the final, scoring a brace in their 2-1 victory over Bolton.


Liverpool won a historic treble in the 2000-01 season, capturing not only the League Cup but also the FA Cup and the UEFA Cup titles that year.

The Reds lifted the EFL Cup trophy after beating Birmingham City 5-4 in a penalty shootout.


Liverpool's 2003 League Cup win will forever be remembered by Reds fans as they defeated arch-rivals, Manchester United, in the final.

Steven Gerrard and Michael Owen scored in the 2-0 win to hand Liverpool their seventh EFL Cup title.


It took nine years before the Reds added another League Cup title to their trophy haul. The game went into a penalty shootout after Liverpool and Cardiff City scored two goals apiece in regulation and extra time.

The Reds eventually prevailed 3-2 in the shootout to win their eighth EFL Cup title.


The Reds became EFL Cup champions again after a 10-year wait, lifting the Carabao Cup trophy after defeating Chelsea in an epic penalty shootout.

All 22 players on the pitch took a spot kick in the shootout. Liverpool eventually prevailed 11-10 after Chelsea goalkeeper, Kepa Arrizabalaga, missed his penalty attempt.


No Salah and Nunez, no problem. The Reds captured their 10th League Cup title on Sunday, beating Chelsea 1-0 in the final.

Virgil van Dijk starred for Liverpool in the championship match, heading in the winning goal in the 118th minute to hand the Reds the Carabao Cup title.

The Reds won the League Cup trophy for the second time under Jurgen Klopp, per the BBC.

VAR decisions in League Cup final

Sports Brief recently reported on the VAR decisions in the Chelsea vs. Liverpool final.

Two goals were disallowed in the Carabao Cup title match between the two sides.

Raheem Sterling and van Dijk had their goals during regulation time ruled out.

Joel Reyes photo
Joel Reyes
Joel Reyes is a sports editor at with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism from the University of the Philippines. He has eight years of work experience in sports writing.
Jürgen Klopp