Brazil’s Anderson Silva to Be Inducted Into the UFC Hall of Fame

Brazil’s Anderson Silva to Be Inducted Into the UFC Hall of Fame

  • Anderson Silva holds the record for the longest win streak in the UFC, as he went unbeaten for 16 fights
  • The Spider was the Middleweight champion for a total of 2,457 days, a feat which has not been broken since
  • The UFC will honour the Brazilian's legendary career by inducting him into the 2023 Hall of Fame

There’s no doubt that Anderson Silva will go down as one of the greatest MMA fighters of all time.

The Spider inspired a new generation of fighters as he went on to dominate the Middleweight division in the UFC.

Brazil, Anderson Silva, Inducted, UFC Hall of Fame, Sport, World, MMA, Kamaru Usman, Leon Edwards, Israel Adesanya
Anderson Silva is one of MMA"s greatest athletes, and he will be inducted into the UFC's Hall of Fame later this year in honour of his legendary career. Image: Mike Roach
Source: Getty Images

The Brazilian’s legendary career will now be immortalised, as he is set to be inducted into the UFC’s Hall of Fame, MMA Junkie reported.

The announcement was made during UFC 286 in London, which was headlined by Leon Edwards defending against Kamaru Usman.

Read also

Footage of Drake paying tribute to Messi and teammates during performance in Argentina goes viral

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ click on "Recommended for you" and enjoy!

Silva will be part of the Class of 2023 alongside former champions Jose Aldo and Jens Pulver. The UFC made the announcement by releasing a video of Silva’s achievements throughout his career, with tributes from fellow fighters.

Superstars like TJ Dillashaw and Israel Adesanya credited Silva with inspiring their careers.

Subscribe to watch new videos

Silva’s impressive record.

The Spider won an impressive 34 fights during his professional career, but it’s his record in the UFC that really stands out. Silva won 17 fights in the UFC and holds the longest championship reign in UFC title history. Silva was champion for a total of 2,457 days.

He also owns the record for the longest win streak at 16. Kamaru Usman's streak was at 15 when he lost to Leon Edwards in their second bout.

Read also

Sadio Mane spotted reading Quran in Bayern Munich bus ahead of Bayer Leverkusen clash

Who did Silva beat?

The Brazilian beat some big names during his historic run as champion. Below is the list of fighters Silva beat, and how he beat them, as noted by UFC Stats.

OpponentEventMethod of VictoryRound
Chris LebenUFC Fight Night 5KO1
Rich FranklinUFC 64: UnstoppableKO1
Travis LutterUFC 67: All or NothingSubmission2
Nate MarquardtUFC 73: StackedKO1
Rich FranklinUFC 77: Hostile TerritoryKO2
Dan HendersonUFC 82: Pride of a ChampionSubmission2
James IrvinUFC: Silva vs IrvinTKO1
Patrick CoteUFC 90: Silva vs CoteTKO3
Thales LeitesUFC 97: RedemptionUnanimous Decision5
Forrest GriffinUFC 101: DeclarationKO1
Demian MaiaUFC 112: InvincibleUnanimous Decision5
Chael SonnenUFC 117: Silva vs SonnenSubmission5
Vitor BelfortUFC 126: Silva vs BelfortKO1
Yushin OkamiUFC 134: Silva vs OkamiTKO2
Chael SonnenUFC 148: Silva vs Sonnen 2KO2
Stephan BonnarUFC 153: Silva vs BonnarTKO1

Read also

Leon Edwards’ 12-match unbeaten streak: Who did the UFC welterweight champ beat during his long winning run?

Silva's best finishers

Subscribe to watch new videos

Dana White’s praise for Silva

As noted by CBS Sport, UFC president Dana White was full of praise for the Brazilian.

"Anderson's 16-fight winning streak in the UFC, 10 successful title defences and almost seven years as middleweight champion were one of the most remarkable things we've ever seen in professional sports.
“He was an absolute artist inside the Octagon, and it will be an honour to induct him into the UFC Hall of Fame this summer," he said.

Most title defences in UFC

Anderson Silva has one of the most impressive runs as champion in the UFC.

Silva began his reign as UFC middleweight champion in 2006 when he knocked out Rich Franklin at UFC 64, Sports Brief reported.

He successfully defended his title 10 times before Chris Weidman ended his reign over the division in 2013.

Source: Sports Brief News