2025 FIFA Club World Cup: Arsenal Fail to Qualify After Champions League QF Exit vs Bayern Munich

2025 FIFA Club World Cup: Arsenal Fail to Qualify After Champions League QF Exit vs Bayern Munich

Joel Reyes
April 18, 2024 at 1:40 PM
In this article:
Arsenal logo
Red Bull Salzburg logo
Red Bull Salzburg
Bayern Munich logo
Bayern Munich
UEFA Champions League logo
UEFA Champions League logo
UEFA Champions League
Bukayo Saka logo
Arsenal logoFEngland logo
Gabriel Jesus logo
Arsenal logoFBrazil logo
  • A total of 32 teams will participate in the 2025 FIFA Club World Cup next year in the United States
  • 23 clubs have already booked their spots in the tournament, a dozen of which come from Europe
  • Salzburg qualified for the event at Arsenal's expense after the Gunners lost to Bayern Munich

⚽️ Bookmark Sports Brief's Live Football Fixtures; Live Scores; Results and Tables section ⚽️

Arsenal suffered a costly defeat on Wednesday night.

Not only did the Gunners crash out of the UEFA Champions League with the loss to Bayern Munich, but they also failed to qualify for the 2025 FIFA Club World Cup.

Mikel Arteta's men needed to win this year's European Cup for them to qualify for FIFA's showpiece event.

Martin Odegaard, Arsenal, Bayern Munich, Salzburg, FIFA Club World Cup.
Martin Odegaard reacts during Arsenal's match against Bayern Munich. Image: Odd ANDERSEN.
Source: Getty Images

That didn't transpire with their quarter-final exit in Germany. Joshua Kimmich broke Arsenal fans' hearts in the second leg, scoring the lone goal in the 63rd minute.

Salzburg qualify for CWC at Arsenal's expense

Salzburg benefited from the Gunners' loss as they secured the 12th and final spot for UEFA teams in next year's Club World Cup.

The Austrian club qualified for the tournament via Europe's rankings pathway.

Before Salzburg's qualification on Wednesday, 11 other European teams have already sealed their places for the Club World Cup.

They include Premier League clubs Manchester City, Real Madrid, Chelsea, Bayern Munich, Atletico Madrid, Paris Saint-Germain, Porto, Borussia Dortmund, Benfica, Inter Milan, and Juventus, per Goal.com.

A dozen teams from other football confederations have already secured their spots in the tournament as well.

Saudi Arabian side Al Hilal and Japanese club Urawa Reds will represent the AFC. Brazilian teams Flamengo, Palmeiras, and Fluminense will represent CONMEBOL.

CONCACAF will have the Seattle Sounders, Leon, and Monterrey as their representatives. Al Ahly and Wydad AC will represent CAF while Auckland City is the lone participant from OFC.

Jesus watches Man City's penalty shootout defeat

Sports Brief recently reported on Gabriel Jesus' reaction to Manchester City's penalty shootout defeat.

The Arsenal forward was seen watching his former club square off against Real Madrid in the Champions League quarter-finals.

City's bid to win back-to-back titles ended in disappointment as they lost 4-3 in the shootout.

Joel Reyes photo
Joel Reyes
Joel Reyes is a sports editor at Sportsbrief.com with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism from the University of the Philippines. He has eight years of work experience in sports writing.