Earliest Bundesliga Wins in History After Bayer Leverkusen’s Victory With 5 Games Left

Earliest Bundesliga Wins in History After Bayer Leverkusen’s Victory With 5 Games Left

Elijah Odetokun
updated at April 15, 2024 at 6:52 AM
In this article:
Bayern Munich logo
Bayern Munich
Bayer Leverkusen logo
Bayer Leverkusen
Bundesliga logo
GER Bundesliga
  • Bayer Leverkusen have won their first Bundesliga title after beating Werder Bremen
  • The Xabi A side unseated Bayern Munich, who won the last 11 trophies
  • They fell short of breaking the record of the earliest title wins set by Bayern in 2014

Bayer Leverkusen have been crowned the German Bundesliga champions for the first time in their history after a 5-0 victory over Werder Bremen at the Bay Arena.

They unseat Bayern Munich, which has won the last 11 titles, ending their hegemony. Xabi Alonso's team has won the league with five games to spare in the season.

Victor Boniface, Granit Xhaka, Bay Arena, Bayer Leverkusen, Werder Bremen, Bundesliga.
Bayer Leverkusen players celebrate Victor Boniface's first half strike. Photo by Marco Steinbrenner.
Source: Getty Images

Sports Brief looks at the five earliest title wins in the German first division.

Earliest Bundesliga title wins

1. Bayern Munich - 2013/14

Per Bleacher Report, Pep Guardiola led Bayern to the 2013/14 title in style, winning the title on matchday 27 and with seven games left in the season after a 3-1 victory over Hertha Berlin. Up till that moment, they were unbeaten in the season.

2. Bayern Munich - 2012/13

According to France24, Bayern's 2012/13 triumph under Jupp Heynckes set the record for the quickest title win with six games after their 1-0 win over Eintracht Frankfurt. The record was broken a year later by the same team.

3. Bayern Munich - 4 games

The Bavarians have won the title on matchday 30 with four games to spare four times (2014/15, 2002/03, 1998/99 and 1972/73). The victories in 2003 and 1999 were achieved under legendary manager Ottmar Hitzfield, almost winning the treble in ‘99 but lost the Champions League to Manchester United.

Udo Lattek led them to the 1973 victory as part of his three consecutive titles, while Guardiola had the honours in 2015, also as part of a three-straight victory.

Unsurprisingly, no other team has done this other than the 32-time German champions. The latest they've won the title was on the final day after snatching it from Borussia Dortmund in the final minute last season.

Nigerians influence Leverkusen dressing room

Sports Brief reported on Boniface and Tella influencing the dressing room with the Nigerian vibes after Leverkusen won their first-ever Bundesliga title.

The duo took over the speaker and played afrobeat from Nigerian artists, including Flavour and Seyi Vibes, to a rosy celebration from the rest of the team.

Elijah Odetokun photo
Elijah Odetokun
Elijah Odetokun is Reuters-trained journalist with three years of experience having previously worked at Daily Times Nigeria, OmaSports and El Futbolero.