Nedbank Cup Releases Tournament’s All Star Team As Voted For by Football Fans

Nedbank Cup Releases Tournament’s All Star Team As Voted For by Football Fans

Byron Pillay
May 30, 2023 at 2:34 PM
  • Fans recently voted for who they feel should be in the all-time Nedbank Cup All-Star team
  • Players from Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates made up a large chunk of the All-Star team
  • Themba Zwane and Peter Shalulile are the two players who played in the last tournament

The Nedbank Cup has become a staple of South African football over the years and has featured some of the best players in the country.

Established in 1971 as the Life Challenge Cup, the tournament is iconic in local football and has only grown in popularity since it was rebranded.

Nedbank Cup, All-Star Team, South Africa, Orlando Pirates, Mamelodi Sundowns, SuperSport United, Winners, Losers, Transfers
The Nedbank Cup's All-Star team, as voted for by fans, has officially been revealed. Image: @Cellular_jnr/ @soccerzela/ @Levy_T_
Source: Twitter

Nedbank took over the sponsorship in 2008 and recently called upon fans to vote for the all-time All-Star team, and the results have now been released.

Sports Brief looks at who the fans voted to be in the All-Star team.


Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

The Kaizer Chiefs shot-stopper has been a formidable player for the Amakhosi over the years and dominated across all competitions.

Ironically, he has only played eight games in the tournament since it has been known as the Nedbank Cup and kept three cleans in those games. Khune is still contracted to the Amakhosi, but his current deal expires at the end of June 2023.


Siboniso Gaxa (Kaizer Chiefs)

Nickname Pa, Gaxa was voted as the fan's favourite right-back.

Gaxa only played three games in the tournament, with none of those games as a Chiefs player. As noted by Soccer Laduma, Gaxa has now moved into the corporate world since retiring from football.

Eric Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs)

In the central defence is a departing Amakhosi star, Eric Mathoho.

Sowetan LIVE reported that Tower would be leaving the club after 11 years. Tower has played nine games in the tournament and scored two goals for the Amakhosi.

Happy Jele (Orlando Pirates)

The Buccaneers veteran spent 16 years at the club and lifted the Nedbank Cup during that time.

He played 20 Nedbank Cup fixtures, including one game for Royal AM. Jele played over 400 games for Pirates and will always be considered a club legend.

Tsepo Masilela (Kaizer Chiefs)

At left-back is another Kaizer Chiefs player in the form of Masilela.

The Amakhosi star played in the Nedbank Cup for both AmaZulu and Chiefs. Masilela also can brag that he played in the UEFA Champions League, having represented Maccabi Haifa in the competition.


Sifiso Myeni (Orlando Pirates)

Another Buccaneers veteran has been chosen on the right-hand side of the midfield.

Myeni played 131 games for the Sea Robbers and played for three different teams in the Nedbank Cup. He now plays in Botswana.

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Zwane is one of two current Masandawana players to make the All-Star team.

He is also one of two players featured in the tournament's latest edition. Zwane has played 23 games in the Nedbank Cup and lifted the trophy with the Brazilians in the 2021/22 season.

Teko Modise (Mamelodi Sundowns/ Orlando Pirates)

No team could be complete without The General.

A midfield marshal, Modise was an iconic part of every side he played for but is fondly remembered for his time at Orlando Pirates and Sundowns. He’s also a Bafana legend. Modise played in the tournament for both Sundowns and Cape Town City.

Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs)

Much like Modise, Tshabalala is another legend of the country.

His name will forever be etched in history for his stunning goal in the World Cup 2010. Tshabalala has also played in the Nedbank Cup for both Chiefs and AmaZulu.

He has also become an ambassador for the tournament.


Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns)

The second Sundowns star is none other than Namibian striker, Shalulile.

The Masandawana marksman has played 19 games in the competition and scored 14 goals so far, Transfermarkt reported. He’s also won the Nedbank Cup with the Brazilians.

Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United)

A lethal striker, Grobler can be considered a great at SuperSport United. Having netted over 100 times for Matsatsantsa a Pitori, Grobler also has scored five goals in the tournament. Grobler has also proven how lethal he can be in the DStv Premiership and has beaten Shalulile to the Golden Boot award.

Orlando Pirates win Nedbank Cup

Terrence Dzvukamanja is Orlando Pirates’ new hero, Sports Brief has also reported.

Dzvukamanja scored a late goal to gift the Bucs the victory in the Nedbank Cup final.

Pirates already won the MTN8 trophy and are now the Nedbank Cup winners as well.

Byron Pillay photo
Byron Pillay
HOD- La Liga I Bundesliga I French Ligue
South AfricaNedbank CupDStv Premiership