Ronwen Williams, Teboho Mokoena and Rhulani Mokwena Win Big at PSL Awards

Ronwen Williams, Teboho Mokoena and Rhulani Mokwena Win Big at PSL Awards

Byron Pillay
updated at May 29, 2023 at 7:15 AM
In this article:
South Africa League Cup logo
ZA League Cup
South Africa
South Africa Premier Soccer League logo
ZA Premier League
South Africa
  • Mamelodi Sundowns' superstars once again stole the show at the Premier Soccer League's awards
  • Ronwen Williams set a record with 18 clean sheets this season and won the Goalkeeper of the Season
  • Teboho Mokoena won the Footballer of the Season award and the Midfielder of the Season award

The best footballers, coaches and officials in South Africa were honoured after another incredible season.

With the Nedbank Cup final officially bringing an end to the season, the Premier Soccer League awards were held to crown the best of the best.

Mamelodi Sundowns and Andile Jali dominated the awards last year, and the Brazilians once again bagged some of the big prizes.

Mamelodi Sundowns, Sport, World, Soccer, Football, Premier Soccer League, Ronwen Williams, Teboho Mokoena, Rhulani Mokwena, Monnapule Saleng
Ronwen Williams, Rhulani Mokwena and Teboho Mokoena all took home some of the biggest awards as Mamelodi Sundowns stole the show once again. Image: @FARPostZA/ @iDiskiTimes/ @MSFCfanVlog
Source: Twitter

The winners of the PSL awards were:

Chairman's Award: Peter Mancer and Alex Shakoane

PSL Assistant Referee of the Season: Kamohelo Ramutsindela

PSL Referee of the Season: Masixole Bambiso

MTN 8: Orlando Pirates

Last Man Standing: Monnapule Saleng (Orlando Pirates)

Nedbank Cup: Orlando Pirates

Player of the Tournament: Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch FC)

Most Promising Player of the Tournament: Olwethu Makhanya (Stellenbosch FC)

Motsepe Foundation Championship: Polokwane City

Top Scorer: Ashley Cupido (Cape Town Spurs)

DStv Diski Challenge: SuperSport United

Top Goalscorer: Mervin Boji (Stellenbosch FC)

Player of the Season: Luphumlo Sifumba (Cape Town City)

DStv Premiership: Mamelodi Sundowns

Coach of the Season: Rhulani Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Player’s Player of the Season: Monnapule Saleng (Orlando Pirates)

Young Player for the Season: Cassius Mailula (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Midfielder of the Season: Teboho Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defender of the Season: Khuliso Mudau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Goalkeeper of the Season: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Top Scorer: Peter Shalulile and Khanyiso Mayo

Goal of the Season: Yusuf Maart (Kaizer Chiefs)

Footballer of the Season: Teboho Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Nominees announced for PSL awards

Sports Brief reported that the 2022/23 Premier Soccer League Awards nominees were announced.

There was much excitement in the air as fans were eager to see who would take home the big prizes after an incredible season.

Mamelodi Sundowns dominated last season’s awards, and the Brazilians once again had players in the running for the top prizes.

Sundowns win big at awards

The best players in South African football were honoured at the 2022 Premier Soccer League’s annual awards, Sports Brief reported.

The awards are held at the end of every season and honours the best players in the MTN 8, Nedbank Cup, DStv Diski Challenge and DStv Premiership.

Mamelodi Sundowns received the most nominations going into the awards and dominated the winner’s list as well.

Byron Pillay photo
Byron Pillay
Byron Pillay is a sports writer and Head of the Department at Sports Brief (joined in 2022) with over 10 years of experience in community journalism and a degree in journalism from Caxton's Cadet School.
South AfricaDStv PremiershipDSTV Diski