GOAT Battle: Comparing Djokovic and Federer’s ATP Finals Wins After Serb Captures Record 7th Title

GOAT Battle: Comparing Djokovic and Federer’s ATP Finals Wins After Serb Captures Record 7th Title

Joel Reyes
November 20, 2023 at 10:19 AM
  • Novak Djokovic has won seven ATP Tour Finals titles in his illustrious tennis career
  • He broke the record of six ATP Finals titles held by Roger Federer since 2011
  • Djokovic made history when he defeated Jannik Sinner in the 2023 final

Novak Djokovic is simply unstoppable.

The 24-time Grand Slam champion ended his historic 2023 season with yet another victory, claiming a record seventh ATP Finals title on Sunday night.

Sports Brief compares Djokovic and Roger Federer’s ATP Finals wins following the Serbian star's historic triumph in Turin.

Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, ATP Finals, ATP Tour Finals, Tennis, Rafael Nadal, Carlos Alcaraz, Jannik Sinner
Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer lift their ATP Finals titles. Images: Giampiero Sposito/ Adam Davy.
Source: Getty Images

Novak Djokovic (7 ATP Finals titles)

Djokovic cemented his status as the GOAT of tennis, setting a new record for most ATP Finals titles with seven on Sunday night.

He first won this event in 2008, beating Nikolay Davydenko 6-1, 7-5 in the final.

He claimed his second ATP World Tour Finals title in 2012. He entered the tournament as the top seed and won all five of his matches in the group stage and the knockout rounds.

He came from a set down to beat Juan del Potro in the semis to set up a final clash with Roger Federer.

Djokovic sealed the season-ending title, recording a 7-6 (5), 7-5 victory over the Swiss maestro.

The Serbian star successfully defended his title in 2013, beating arch-rival Rafael Nadal 6-3, 6-4 in the final.

Djokovic made it three titles in a row in 2014, but the way he captured the championship wasn’t satisfying.

He won the crown after his opponent, Federer, withdrew from the final. It was the first-ever walkover in a final in the event’s 45-year history.

He made history in 2015, winning his fourth straight ATP Finals title. Djokovic and Federer faced each other in the final, one year after the Swiss star withdrew from the championship match.

Djokovic replicated his victory in 2012, beating Federer in straight sets (6-3, 6-4) in the final to claim his fifth ATP Finals title.

All good things must come to an end, though. Djokovic failed to win the season-ending event the following six years, with other tennis stars taking the throne this time around.

He returned to winning ways in 2022, beating Casper Ruud 7-5, 6-3 in the championship match to capture his sixth ATP Finals crown.

It was a historic victory for Djokovic, who tied Federer’s record for most ATP Finals wins.

Djokovic made the record his own this year, beating Carlos Alcaraz in the semis and then hometown favourite Jannik Sinner in the championship match to win his seventh ATP Finals title, per ESPN.

Roger Federer (6 ATP Finals titles)

Federer first won this event in 2003, going unbeaten in five matches and beating tennis legend Andre Agassi 6-3, 6-0, 6-4 in the final.

He successfully defended his title in 2004, beating Lleyton Hewitt 6-3, 6-2 in the final.

He suffered a heartbreaking five-set loss to David Nalbandian in the 2005 final, denying him a chance for a three-peat.

He bounced back with a vengeance, winning back-to-back titles in 2006 and 2007.

Federer defeated James Blake 6-0, 6-3, 6-4 in the 2006 final to win the season-ending event for the third time.

He then crushed David Ferrer 6-2, 6-3, 6-2 in the 2007 final to claim his fourth Tour Finals title.

He captured the championship again in 2010, beating Rafael Nadal 6-3, 3-6, 6-1 in the final.

He won his sixth and last ATP World Tour Finals title in 2011, beating Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 6-3, 6-7 (6), 6-3 in the championship match.

Exciting news! We have a WhatsApp channel 🤩

➡️ Click to join our channel for all your favourite sports news.

Who are the Djokovic stoppers?

Sports Brief recently reported on the players who have beaten Djokovic this year.

Only six tennis stars have accomplished that gargantuan feat in 2023.

They are Daniil Medvedev, Carlos Alcaraz, Lorenzo Musetti, Jannik Sinner, Dusan Lajovic, and Holger Rune.

Joel Reyes photo
Joel Reyes
Editor- Other Sports
Novak DjokovicWorld