World Cup 2022: Who Has Qualified and Who Is in The Play-Offs?

World Cup 2022: Who Has Qualified and Who Is in The Play-Offs?

  • The 2022 World Cup in Qatar is the final edition which that will have 32 teams
  • A number of big nations have already secured their tickets including Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, England and Germany
  • Others like Portugal will have to battle it out in the playoffs in March 2022

The anticipated World Cup in Qatar is slowly taking shape, with the qualifiers coming to a close.

World Cup 2022
Belgium, France and Argentina are among the heavy hitters who have qualified for the World Cup. Photo: Getty.
Source: Getty Images

Several big nations have already booked their places in the tournament, which is slightly a year away.

In Europe, the qualifying fixtures came to a close on Tuesday, November 16, with reigning champions France and England securing their slots in the tournament.

There is however still much to be decided as far as qualification is concerned around the world, with some other big nations such as Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal being thrust into the playoffs.

Portugal somehow found themselves in the playoffs after a last-minute winner from Serbia on Sunday saw Fernando Santos’s side succumb to a shock 2-1 defeat when they only needed a draw to secure their ticket.

Read also

European Clubs Threaten to Stop African Players From Participating in 2022 AFCON

The likes of Belgium, Denmark and Germany safely navigated their groups.

Switzerland also took full advantage of Italy’s slip up against Northern Ireland as they secured their ticket at the expense of the Azzurri, who recently won the Euro 2020.

The Netherlands also made a return to the World Cup after topping a hotly-contested Group G in the qualifiers.

So far, these are the teams that have qualified for the World Cup:

Qatar (host nation)

Germany (UEFA Group J Winner) on Oct. 11

Denmark (UEFA Group F Winner) on Oct. 12

Brazil (One of CONMEBOL's top four teams) on Nov. 11

Belgium (UEFA Group E Winner) on Nov. 13

France (UEFA Group D Winner) on Nov. 13

Serbia (UEFA Group A Winner) on Nov. 14

Spain (UEFA Group B Winner) on Nov. 14

Croatia (UEFA Group H Winner) on Nov. 14

Switzerland (UEFA Group C Winner) on Nov. 15

Read also

Delight as 2 Kenyan Referees Selected to Officiate in AFCON

England (UEFA Group I Winner) on Nov. 15

Netherlands (UEFA Group G Winner) on Nov. 16

Argentina (One of CONMEBOL's top four teams) on Nov. 16

What about Africa?

Only 5 nations from Africa will be in the World Cup 2022 in Qatar.

40 teams from Africa were pooled into 10 groups of four that competed to advance to the final of the qualifying round.

Winners of each group earned a spot in the last round which involves a two-legged tie for the five World Cup slots available.

As at Wednesday, November 17, the nations progressing to the final round include Algeria, Cameroon, DR Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal and Tunisia.

Notably, African heavyweights like Ivory Coast and South Africa will not be taking part in next year’s edition.


Three more nations from Europe will join the others in Qatar, albeit through the gruelling playoffs.

The six seeded sides who will be handed a home draw for the play offs are Portugal, Scotland, Italy, Russia, Sweden and Wales.

Read also

Tension for England As Three Lions To Face Two Big Rivals in UEFA Nations League ‘Group of Death’

Unseeded nations include Turkey, Poland, North Macedonia, Ukraine, Austria and Czech Republic.

There will be six semi-finals, split into three paths which eventually leads to three play of finals which will take place between March 28 and 29.