NFF Technical Committee Member: Meet the Eight Men Responsible for Naming the Next Nigeria Coach

NFF Technical Committee Member: Meet the Eight Men Responsible for Naming the Next Nigeria Coach

Ero Samson
updated at April 18, 2024 at 1:18 PM
In this article:
Nigeria logo
Super Eagles logo
Super Eagles
South Africa
CAF Africa Cup of Nations logo
Enyimba logo
  • The Super Eagles of Nigeria have been without a coach since the departure of Jose Peseiro
  • The NFF's technical committee is on the verge of finalising the appointment of the next manager
  • Sports Brief spotlights the committee members tasked with naming the next coach of the team

⚽️ Bookmark Sports Brief's Live Football Fixtures; Live Scores; Results and Tables section ⚽️

The Super Eagles' coaching situation continues to be a focal point of discussion as the June international window approaches.

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finalists risk heading into the crucial international window without a permanent head coach — a situation which appears to be a source of concern for many fans and stakeholders of the national team.

However, reports suggest that the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) technical committee members are poised to resolve the lingering coaching vacancy.

Nigeria, NFF, Coach, Super Eagles, Austin Eguavoen, technical committee
Austin Eguavoen is a member of the NFF technical committee saddled with appointing a coach for the Super Eagles. Image: Daniel Belomou.
Source: Getty Images

The committee’s recommendations will be carefully considered by the NFF executive committee, chaired by President, Ibrahim Gusau, before the official appointment is announced.

In light of these developments, Sports Brief highlights the members of the technical committee tasked with scrutinising the next coach of the Nigerian team.

Members of the NFF technical committee

Sharif Inuwa – Committee Chairman:

The Chairman of the Kano State Football Federation leads the technical committee as the chairman.

The Nigerian football chief also holds a position on the executive committee of the NFF. Reports have often detailed that he is one of the closest allies of the NFF President.

Felix Anyansi-Agwu – Vice Chairman:

The football enthusiast is also on the technical committee responsible for scrutinising the next coach of the Super Eagles.

Felix Anyansi-Agwu serves as the NFF's first Vice President. He is famously known for his role as leading NPFL side, Enyimba, to becoming one of Africa’s football powerhouses.

Olayinka Olagbemiro:

The founder of the famous Youth Arise football club is also a member of the technical committee. Olayinka boasts a track record of managing teams across Nigeria. He has been a part of the NFF for over eight years.

Victor Ikpeba:

The 1997 CAF African Footballer of the Year winner is among the few ex-footballers on the technical committee.

The 1996 Olympic Gold winner had a distinguished playing career that saw him make a name for himself across Europe.

He is one of the longest-serving members of this committee, and he also works as a football pundit.

Zanna Mala:

The former chairman of the former NPFL side, El Kanemi Warriors, also makes up the committee. Like Inuwa, the football administrator is also deemed a close ally of the NFF president.

Felix Owolabi:

The former Super Eagles winger, who was integral to Nigeria winning its first-ever Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), is also a member of the committee.

Owolabi has been vocal about the coaching situation. In a recent interview, as reported by Score Nigeria, he provided a hint as to who could be named Nigeria’s next coach.

Augustine Eguavoen:

The former Super Eagles defender and current technical adviser is another ex-player on the committee.

Eguavoen was the coach of the Nigerian team at the 2022 AFCON and will be crucial in scrutinising the coaches set to be appointed.

Aminu Kurfi:

The Katsina State Football Federation Chairman and a Special Adviser to the Katsina government on sports completes the individuals on the committee. Aminu Kurfi is a prominent figure across Nigeria’s political scenes as well as the country’s footballing space.

NFF chief speaks on Super Eagles coaching announcement

Sports Brief also previously reported on a stakeholder of Nigerian football explaining the present delay in announcing the next coach of the Super Eagles.

The Nigeria national team have been without a permanent coach since the end of February, when Jose Peseiro exited the role at the end of his contract.

Ero Samson photo
Ero Samson
Samson Ero is a sports journalist with a track record of over five years in the Nigerian media industry. He graduated from Nigerian Institute of Journalism (2021-2023).
Nigeria Football Federation (NFF)