Nigeria AFCON Hero Segun Odegbami Compares 1980 and 1994 Super Eagles Teams

Nigeria AFCON Hero Segun Odegbami Compares 1980 and 1994 Super Eagles Teams

Edwin Kiplagat
February 23, 2024 at 5:30 PM
In this article:
Nigeria logo
  • Segun Odegbami icon has picked Nigeria's best-ever team
  • Nigeria have had great teams in their football history
  • The West African nation has won three AFCON titles

Nigeria's quest for a fourth Africa Cup of Nations ended agonizingly as they were defeated in the final of the 2023 edition earlier this month.

Segun Odegbami, Nigeria's 1980 AFCON hero, has compared his 1980 AFCON-winning team to the 1994 Golden Generation that won Nigeria's second continental crown.

Victor Osimhen, Nigeria, Alex Iwobi, Segun Odegbami, AFCON, Super Eagles
Nigeria have underachieved in the last few years. Photos by Ulrik Pedersen/DeFodi Images and Issouf Sanogo.
Source: Getty Images

Nigeria won their first AFCON title in 1980, thanks to Odegbami's first-half brace and Mudashiru Lawal's goal in the second half against Algeria. Cameroon ended their AFCON dreams many times, per Afrik Foot.

The Super Eagles reached the 1984, 1988, and 1990 AFCON finals, but they all ended in defeat. During this period, Nigeria slowly built a Golden Generation.

In 1994, a team made up of icons such as Jay-Jay Okocha, Sunday Oliseh, Daniel Amokachi, Stephen Keshi, Samson Siasia, and Rashidi Yekini, won the Super Eagles' second crown.

They had to wait almost 20 years to win their third title in 2013. That 2013 title was a shock to many as they were not pre-tournament favourites.

Odegbami on Nigeria 1980 vs 1994

The 71-year-old said the 1994 squad is easily the Super Eagles' best team ever.

"The 1994 squad was the best team without question, probably the best squad. Statistically, the best squad in our history because they took us to fifth place in FIFA ranking,” via
“When it comes to tactics and skills, we are not quite as good and physically strong as the 1994 squad.”

He added that the 1994 side played a more expansive style.

“They played very attacking football that time. Now, we are more defensive because of the style he (Peseiro) introduced, but it got us to the final, so you cannot even fault that too much."

Odegbami is Nigeria's second-highest goalscorer.

Haller wins AFCON for Ivory Coast

Sports Brief earlier reported on Haller scoring the winner for Ivory Coast to help them lift their third AFCON title after beating Nigeria in the final.

The Borussia Dortmund striker poked home from close range following a neat cross from Simon Adingra.

The Elephants have now won three AFCON titles. The last time they lifted the trophy was in 2015.

Edwin Kiplagat photo
Edwin Kiplagat
Edwin Kiplagat has five years of experience in journalism working as a Sports Editor at Africa Insight Communications and ESPN. Edwin Kiplagat is a Bachelor's Degree holder in journalism from the Multimedia University of Kenya.