Most Spanish Super Cup Titles: Real Madrid Close In on Barcelona’s Record After Win in Saudi Arabia

Most Spanish Super Cup Titles: Real Madrid Close In on Barcelona’s Record After Win in Saudi Arabia

Joel Reyes
updated at January 15, 2024 at 1:32 PM
In this article:
Lionel Messi logo
Inter Miami CF logoFArgentina logo
Cristiano Ronaldo logo
C. Ronaldo
Al Nassr FC logoFPortugal logo
Real Madrid logo
Real Madrid
FC Barcelona logo
FC Barcelona
Supercopa de España logo
Supercopa de España
Luka Modrić logo
L. Modrić
Real Madrid logoMCroatia logo
  • Barcelona have won a record 14 Spanish Super Cup titles in their history
  • Real Madrid are closing in on Barcelona’s record with 13 Supercopa titles
  • Athletic Bilbao and Deportivo La Coruna are tied for third with three titles apiece

Real Madrid grabbed their first silverware of the year, beating arch-rivals Barcelona in the 2023-24 Spanish Super Cup on Sunday.

Vinicius Junior starred for Real in the final, scoring a hat-trick against the Catalan giants in Saudi Arabia.

Sports Brief looks at the teams with the most Spanish Super Cup titles following Real Madrid's latest triumph.

Real Madrid, Barcelona, Spanish Super Cup, Supercopa, Vinicius Junior, Luka Modrid, Lionel Messi
Real Madrid celebrate after winning the Spanish Super Cup. Image: Stringer/Anadolu.
Source: Getty Images

Teams with most Spanish Super Cup titles

1. Barcelona (14 Supercopa titles)

Barcelona still holds the record for most Spanish Super Cup championships, capturing 14 titles in their illustrious history.

They first won the Supercopa in 1983, beating Athletic Bilbao 3-2 on aggregate in the final.

Barcelona won the first leg at San Mames 3-1 before losing the second leg 1-0 at Camp Nou.

They then captured four Supercopa titles in the 1990s, winning the crown in 1991, 1992, 1994, and 1996.

Barcelona waited nine years before winning the Spanish Super Cup again in 2005. They dominated the event after that with Lionel Messi in their lineup, capturing the championship in 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2016, and 2018.

They won the Supercopa for the first time since Messi left last season, beating Real Madrid 3-1 in the 2022-23 final.

Gavi, Robert Lewandowski, and Pedri scored the goals for Barca in that contest, per ESPN.

2. Real Madrid (13 Supercopa titles)

Real Madrid are closing in on Barcelona’s record after their win on Sunday night.

They now have 13 Super Cup titles following their latest masterclass in Saudi Arabia.

Real opened their Supercopa account with three consecutive titles from 1988 to 1990. They automatically captured the title in 1989 after winning the double the previous season.

Real Madrid captured their fourth Spanish Super Cup crown in 1993, beating Barcelona 4-2 on aggregate.

They faced Barca again in the 1997 Super Cup, winning 5-3 on aggregate to lift their fifth title.

They won three more Super Cups in the 2000s, capturing the championship in 2001, 2003, and 2008.

Real Madrid found it difficult to win the Supercopa in the 2010s, only winning it twice in 2012 and 2017.

They have dominated the event, though, ever since it was staged in Saudi Arabia.

Real Madrid won three of the four Super Cup editions held in Saudi, capturing the championship in the 2019-20, 2021-22, and 2023-24 seasons, per The Guardian.

3. Athletic Bilbao (3 Supercopa titles)

Athletic Bilbao are ranked third with three Spanish Super Cup titles.

They first won the title in 1984, automatically winning the trophy after capturing the league and cup double the previous season.

They waited 31 years before winning their Super Cup, beating Barcelona 5-1 on aggregate in 2015.

Their third and last Super Cup title came in the 2020-21 season when they beat Barcelona 3-2 in the final.

Inaki Williams starred for Bilbao in that contest, scoring the eventual match-winner in the 93rd minute.

3. Deportivo La Coruna (3 Supercopa titles)

Deportivo La Coruna also have three Spanish Super Cups, winning the title in 1995, 2000, and 2002.

They won their first Supercopa in style, beating Real Madrid 5-1 on aggregate in the 1995 final.

They won the title again five years later, beating Espanyol 2-0 on aggregate in 2000.

Their third and last Super Cup title came in 2002 when they defeated Valencia 4-0 on aggregate.

Exciting news! We have a WhatsApp channel 🤩

➡️ Click to join our channel for all your favourite sports news.

Vini's Siuu celebration

Sports Brief recently reported on Vinicius paying tribute to Ronaldo at the Supercopa.

He copied the former Real Madrid star's iconic Siuu celebration after scoring in the seventh minute.

He led Real Madrid in the rout, bagging a hat-trick within 38 minutes.

Joel Reyes photo
Joel Reyes
Joel Reyes is a sports editor at with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism from the University of the Philippines. He has eight years of work experience in sports writing.