AFCON 2023: How Much Winner Will Collect After CAF Increase Prize Money by 40 Percent

AFCON 2023: How Much Winner Will Collect After CAF Increase Prize Money by 40 Percent

Elijah Odetokun
updated at January 4, 2024 at 3:32 PM
In this article:
CAF Africa Cup of Nations logo
Ivory Coast logo
Cote DIvoire
Ivory Coast
  • The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations kicks off in nine days in Ivory Coast
  • The Confederation of African Football today announced the prize money
  • The winner will receive $7 million, a 40% increase from the last edition

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations winner, kicking off in nine days in Ivory Coast, will receive more money than the 2021 winner after CAF announced a 40% increase.

The 24-nation event to crown a new champion for the continent will run between January 13 and February 11 in five stadiums in six host cities, including the capital city Abidjan.

Champions Senegal will begin the defence of their title in Group C, where they are drawn alongside five-time winners Cameroon, Guinea, and the Gambia.

Sadio Mane, Senegal, Egypt, AFCON 2021, Olembe Stadium, Cameroon.
Sadio Mane poses with the AFCON trophy after Senegal beat Egypt on penalties to win the 2021 edition in Cameroon. Photo by Charly Triballeau/AFP.
Source: Getty Images

Host nation and two-time winners Ivory Coast are drawn in Group A alongside three-time winners, the Super Eagles of Nigeria, Equatorial Guinea and Guinea Bissau.

CAF announce prize money

Per CAF Online, President Patrice Motsepe announced the prize for the winners of this year’s tournament, with the winner pocketing $7 million, a 40% increase from 2021 prize money.

The runner-up will receive $4 million while the third and fourth-placed teams will earn $2.5 million, while the other four nations that reach the quarter-finals will earn $1.3 million each.

Goal reported that Senegal received $5 million for beating Egypt on penalties in the 2021 finals, a prize that had an increase of $500,000 from what Algeria received for winning in 2019.

The increment came after CAF reached a three-year broadcast rights deal with Togolese satellite company New World TV to cover events on the continent, including 2023 and 2025 AFCONs.

Per Inside World, the agreement is reportedly worth $75mil. This has led to widespread outrage after it was announced that media heavyweight on the continent MultiChoice will not be broadcasting on SuperSport.

Exciting news! We have a WhatsApp channel 🤩

➡️ Click to join our channel for all your favourite sports news.

Top players who never won AFCON

Sports Brief reported on African legends who never won AFCON, including Chelsea legend and two-time African Footballer of the Year, Didier Drogba.

The Ivorian lost two finals six years apart, missing the decisive spot kicks in both. Asamoah Gyan also lost two finals with the Black Stars of Ghana.

Elijah Odetokun photo
Elijah Odetokun
Elijah Odetokun is Reuters-trained journalist with three years of experience having previously worked at Daily Times Nigeria, OmaSports and El Futbolero.