Leicester City’s 2016 Premier League Winners and Where They Are After Foxes’ Relegation

Leicester City’s 2016 Premier League Winners and Where They Are After Foxes’ Relegation

Elijah Odetokun
May 31, 2023 at 10:32 AM
  • Leicester City were relegated from the Premier League on the final day despite beating West Ham
  • Everton’s 1-0 win over Bournemouth meant Leicester dropped with Southampton and Leeds United
  • The Foxes were Premier League winners during the 2015/16 season and won the FA Cup in 2021

Leicester City have been relegated to the second tier of English football after the results of the other games did not favour them, despite their win over West Ham United.

The Foxes were Premier League champions in a fairy tale 2015/16 season under Claudio Ranieri, and also won the 2021 FA Cup under Brendan Rodgers. Despite this, they will play Championship football next season.

Jamie Vardy, James Maddison, Leicester City, Filbert Way, King Power Stadium.
Jamie Vardy applauding the Leicester City fans after their 2-1 over West Ham, which unfortunately was not enough to avoid relegation. Photo by Michael Regan.
Source: Getty Images

Sports Brief looks at the top stars of their 2016 title-winning most-used 11 and where they are now, including Jamie Vardy, who went down with the club.

Kasper Schmeichel

The 36-year-old goalkeeper and son of former Manchester United goalkeeper, Peter Schmeichel was in goal for the beautiful run. He left Leicester and joined French side, OGC Nice, but his time there could end soon, with Mirror UK reporting that his training technique has infuriated his teammates.

Danny Simpson

The right-back is without a club since his contract was mutually terminated by Bristol Rovers, having also played for Huddersfield Town since leaving the King Power Stadium in 2018.

Wes Morgan

PL-winning captain, Morgan was a rock in the defence for Leicester. The Jamaican stayed at the club for five more years and announced his professional retirement after their FA Cup triumph over Chelsea in 2021.

Robert Huth

The German won two league titles with Chelsea under Jose Mourinho. He retired in 2019 after an 18-month injury layoff but returned to Leicester last year as the loans manager.

Christian Fuchs

The Austrian full-back left Leicester last year after losing his place to Ben Chilwell in 2018. He announced his professional retirement in January and is the current assistant manager of Charlotte FC in the MLS.

Danny Drinkwater

The English midfielder followed in the path of N’Golo Kante to Chelsea in 2017, but had a miserable time, with multiple loan spells. He was released at the end of his contract last year and is a free agent.

N’Golo Kante

Kante left for Chelsea immediately, won the title, and achieved further success, including winning the Champions League. Football London reports he could leave the Blues this summer, with contract talks having gone cold in the last few weeks.

Marc Albrighton

The winger and side midfielder is still on Leicester’s books. He spent the second half of this season on loan at Championship side, West Bromwich Albion.

Danny Simpson, Riyad Mahrez, Jeff Schlupp, Kasper Schmeichel, Leicester City.
Riyad Mahrez watches on as former teammate Jeff Schlupp lifts the Premier League trophy. Photo by Michael Regan.
Source: Getty Images

Riyad Mahrez

The Algerian was the player of the year in the title-winning season. He left in 2018 and joined Manchester City, where he has won four Premier League titles under Pep Guardiola.

Shinji Okazaki

The Japanese was an unsung hero in the title-winning squad. He left the club in 2019 and played for Huesca in Spanish football’s second division. He currently plays for Sint Truiden in Belgium.

Jamie Vardy

The leading striker for the title winners of 2016 is still at the club and went down with them. Daily Star describes it as his meteoric rise coinciding with Leicester’s, while his decline also coincided with their crash.

Referee 'aided Leicester’s PL win'

Sports Brief reported on Danny Simpson claiming former PL referee, Mark Clattenburg refused to eject a player in a 2016 match because he wanted Leicester City to win.

The controversial referee officiated four Leicester games that season, and it is unclear which game Simpson was referring to. Clattenburg has since denied the claims.

Leicester set unwanted record

Sports Brief also reported that Leicester City set an unwanted record after their relegation to the Championship on the final day on Sunday.

They became the second side after Blackburn Rovers to win the English Premier League and then still be relegated years after their triumph.

Elijah Odetokun photo
Elijah Odetokun
Editor- EPL I Serie A
Riyad MahrezEnglish Premier League - EPLWorld