Club World Cup Winners: Which football club has the most club World Cup wins?

Club World Cup Winners: Which football club has the most club World Cup wins?

Sospeter Itolondo
updated at April 12, 2023 at 8:25 PM
In this article:
Cristiano Ronaldo logo
C. Ronaldo
Al Nassr FC logoFPortugal logo
UEFA Champions League logo

The Club World Cup is one of the most prestigious competitions in the world. Only the best clubs around the world get to win it. Given its recent changes, fans are even more excited to watch their favourite clubs from all over the world will perform. Read on to learn who are the Club World Cup winners.

Club World Cup winners
Karim Benzema (C) celebrates with the trophy at the end of the FIFA Club World Cup final against Al-Hilal at the Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium in Rabat on February 11, 2023. Photo: Khaled Desouki
Source: Getty Images

The competition is one of a kind where the winners of different confederations from around the world participate. The 2023 changes will see more teams join the competition making it even more enjoyable despite complaints from some fans and players. European clubs hold the most final wins and have been superior to the others.

Club World Cup winners

The first-ever edition of the competition was in 2000, which saw an all-Brazilian affair. The Club winners' prize money is estimated to be around $5 million, with the runners-up getting up to $4 million. The teams eliminated from the competition at the quarterfinals receive $1 million each, with the first-round knockouts getting $500,000 each.

So, what clubs have won the Club World Cup? Here is the FIFA Club World Cup Winners list:


Times won



Real Madrid

Five times

2022/2023, 2018/2019, 2017/2018, 2016/2017, 2014/2015

Carlo Ancelotti( Twice), Santiago Solari, Zinedine Zidane( Twice)

FC Barcelona


2015/2016, 2011/2012, 2009/2010

Luis Enrique, Pep Guardiola( Twice)

Bayern Munich


2020/2021, 2013/2014

Hansi Flick, Pep Guardiola

Sports Club Corinthians Paulista


2012/2013, 1999/2000

Tite, Oswaldo de Oliveira

Chelsea FC



Thomas Tuchel

Liverpool FC



Jurgen Klopp

FC Internazionale



Rafael Benitez

Manchester United



Sir Alex Ferguson

Sports Club Internacional



Abel Braga

AC Milan



Carlo Ancelotti

Sao Paulo Futebol Club



Paulo Autuori

Do you know who has won the most World Cups? Real Madrid are the Club World Cup winners' all-time leaders, with their former ace and now Al Nassr star Cristiano Ronaldo taking the top spot with the most goals.

FIFA Club World Cup winners list
Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates scoring during extra-time of the Club World Cup final against Kashima Antlers at Yokohama International stadium in Yokohama on December 18, 2016. Photo: Kazuhiro Nogi
Source: Getty Images

Which team won the 2022 Club World Cup? Real Madrid are also the current Club World Cup Winners in 2023 after beating Saudi Arabia Champion AL Hilal 5-3 in the final held in Morocco.

FIFA Club World Cup winners 2021

Chelsea won the 2021 FIFA Club World Cup after beating Brazilian giants Palmeiras 2-1 in the final. The game took place in the United Arab Emirates. The team won the game under the triumphant reign of Thomas Tuchel.

Man Utd Club World Cup winners

So, how many times have Manchester United won the Club World Cup? The English giants won the title only once in 2008/2009 after beating Ecuadorian side LDU Quito 1-0 in the final held in Japan on the 21st of December 2008. Wayne Rooney scored the only goal in the final to give the red devils the trophy.

Man Utd Club World Cup winners
Rio Ferdinand holds up a trophy at a ceremony after the FIFA Club World Cup 2008 final against Liga de Quito at the International Stadium on December 21, 2008, in Yokohama, Japan. Photo: Kiyoshi Ota
Source: Getty Images

Club World Cup winners by continent

The competition is intercontinental, and all continents bring on their best teams to win it. Europe has taken a massive share of the winners over the years, with South American teams coming in second. African and Asian teams have not been Club World Cup award winners in their history. Here is the complete list of Club World Cup winners by continent:


  • Real Madrid,
  • Chelsea,
  • Bayern Munich,
  • Liverpool,
  • Barcelona,
  • Inter Milan,
  • AC Milan,
  • Manchester United

South America

  • Corinthians SP,
  • Sao Paulo FC,
  • Internacional

European sides have held the title for the last ten years, consecutively proving the superior side.

Real Madrid are the current supreme Club World Cup Winners, with the club having the most titles. European sides have also proved to be better than the other continents in the competition, with South American sides coming in second. Cristiano Ronaldo is the competition's top scorer with seven goals.

READ ALSO: Ranking the 25 best women volleyball players in the world listed the world's 25 best women's volleyball players. Volleyball is one of the best sports in the world, getting lots of support from fans as it is also a household sport. Some great names in the sport include Yeon-Koung Kim, Yekaterina Gamova, Ting Zhu and Helia Souza. So, who is the best? Is your favourite player on the list? Check the link above!

Sospeter Itolondo photo
Sospeter Itolondo
SEO Editor