South Africa Drawn in Nightmare 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup Group vs Argentina and Italy

South Africa Drawn in Nightmare 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup Group vs Argentina and Italy

Keba Mothoagae
updated at April 12, 2023 at 8:14 PM
In this article:
FIFA World Cup logo
FIFA World Cup
  • The draw for the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand is done and dusted
  • African champions South Africa have been drawn into what is the Group of Death
  • Banyana Banyana will have to be in top form trying to get past Sweden, Argentina and Italy

South Africa has been drawn into a group of death at the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

African champions Banyana Banyana will be in Group F alongside Sweden, Italy and Argentina. The latest FIFA rankings show that Sweden is second in the world, while Italy and Argentina are 14th and 29th respectively. Banyana is down in 54th as they prepare for a second consecutive world cup appearance.

banyana banyana, south africa, 2023 fifa women's world cup, new zealand, australia, italy, sweden, argentina
South Africa's president Cyril Ramaphosa with Banyana Banyana star Refiloe Jane, with Geremi Njitap at the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup. Image source: Getty Images and FIFA.
Source: Getty Images

The tournament will start on 20 July, before it concludes on the 20th of August. The United States of America will be defending the crown they won in 2019, seeking a record-extending fifth world title.

2023 FIFA Women's World Cup Draw:

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ find "Recommended for you" block and enjoy!

Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland

Group B: Australia, Ireland, Nigeria, Canada

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan

Group D: England, Group B playoff winner (Senegal, Haiti or Chile), Denmark, China

Group E: United States, Vietnam, Netherlands, Group A playoff winner (Portugal, Cameroon or Thailand)

Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Group C playoff winner (Taiwan, Paraguay, Papua New Guinea, Panama)

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea

US face Netherlands at FIFA Women's World Cup in repeat of final

Holders and four-time champions the United States will face the Netherlands in the group phase of next year's FIFA Women's World Cup, a repeat of the 2019 final.

As reported by Sports Brief, Megan Rapinoe's United States will also meet debutants Vietnam and a play-off winner at the finals in Australia and New Zealand, following the draw in Auckland on Saturday.

European champions England, the pre-tournament favourites together with the Americans, will play China, Denmark and another play-off winner. Led by veteran forward Rapinoe, the US are top of the FIFA rankings and going for a third crown in a row -- having beaten the Dutch 2-0 in the 2019 final.

Keba Mothoagae photo
Keba Mothoagae
Editor- Local Desk
South AfricaSouth Africa Football Association (SAFA)World