Jose Riveiro Appointed at Orlando Pirates: Spaniard Is the 21st Buccaneers Coach Since 2000

Jose Riveiro Appointed at Orlando Pirates: Spaniard Is the 21st Buccaneers Coach Since 2000

Keba Mothoagae
June 27, 2022 at 10:54 AM
  • Orlando Pirates have officially unveiled their new head coach for the upcoming 2022/23 football season
  • Spain's José Riveiro will oversee Orlando Pirates and be assisted by Sergio Almenara and Mandla Ncikazi Benni
  • Benni McCarthy, Pitso Mosimane, and Gavin Hunt were all at one stage believed to be in line for the job

South African football continues to react varyingly to the news that Spaniard Jose Riveiro will be Orlando Pirates' head coach next season.

After parting ways with co-coach, Fadlu Davids, the club officially welcomed him as the new boss of the Buccaneers on a three-year deal last Saturday.

jose riveiro, orlando pirates, kosta papic, ruud krol, irvin khoza, steve lekoelea
Jose Riveiro (left) will walk in the footsteps of the legendary Ruud Krol and highly popular Kostadin Papic as Orlando Pirates coach.
Source: UGC

The Spanish-born coach exclaimed that he is delighted to join the Soweto club and is looking forward to the challenge, the club confirmed on its website, with him saying:

“First of all, I would like to send a greeting to all the fans of Orlando Pirates. I am delighted to have joined the club. The Pirates project is an exciting one and I look forward to what lies ahead. It is an honour for me and my colleagues to have the responsibility to coach such an institution and compete for the highest goals.”

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ find "Recommended for you" block and enjoy!

According to Transfermarkt, Riveiro became the club's 19th head coach since the start of 2000.

List of Orlando Pirates coaches since 01 January 2000:

1. Ted Dumitru: November 1999 - June 2000

2. Gordon Igesund: July 2000 - June 2001 (Castle Premiership and BP Top 8)

3. Jean-Yves Kerjean: July 2001 - June 2002

4. Roy Barreto: July 2002 - October 2003 (Castle Premiership)

5. Augusto Palacios: October 2003 - June 2004; March 2012 - September 2012; November 2016 - February 2017 (Absa Premiership)

6. Kostadin Papic: July 2004 - November 2005

7. Teboho Moloi: November 2005 - June 2006

8. Milutin Sredojevic: June 2006 - January 2007; August 2017 - August 2019

9. Bibey Mutombo: January 2007 - September 2007

10. Owen Da Gama: September 2007 - June 2008

11. Ruud Krol: July 2008 - June 2011 (Absa Premiership, MTN 8, Nedbank Cup)

12. Julio Leal: July 2011 - Marc 2012 (MTN 8, Telkom Knockout)

13. Roger De Sa: September 2012 - January 2014

14: Eric Tinkler: January 2014 - February 2014; December 2014 - June 2016

15: Vladimir Vermezovic: February 2014 - December 2014 (Nedbank Cup)

16. Muhsin Ertugral: July 2016 - November 2016

17. Kjell Jonevret: February 2017 - August 2017

18. Rulani Mokwena: August 2017 - December 2019

19. Josef Zinnbauer: December 2019 - August 2021 (MTN 8)

20. Mandla Ncikazi: August 2021 - June 2022

21. Jose Riveiro: June 2022 -

* brackets indicate trophies won

Orlando Pirates legend Steve Lekoelea comments on the Buccaneers hiring José Riveiro as new head coach

There is still a mixed bag of emotions regarding José Riveiro’s appointment at Orlando Pirates.

As reported by Sports Brief, the Spanish coach was unveiled by the club yesterday as the man to lead the Buccaneers for the next three years.

Riveiro has never coached in Africa before and his only experience as a first-team coach is from his stint in Finland since 2014.

Keba Mothoagae photo
Keba Mothoagae
Editor- Local Desk
DStv PremiershipPremier Soccer League (PSL)South Africa