Euro 2024: 7 Stars Who Never Won The Euros Including Manuel Neuer and Kylian Mbappe

Euro 2024: 7 Stars Who Never Won The Euros Including Manuel Neuer and Kylian Mbappe

Fred Kennedy
updated at June 18, 2024 at 7:12 AM
In this article:
Manuel Neuer logo
M. Neuer
Bayern Munich logoGGermany logo
Kevin De Bruyne logo
K. D. Bruyne
Manchester City logoMBelgium logo
Germany logo
Belgium logo
England logo
S. Gerrard
-MEngland logo
Kylian Mbappé logo
Real Madrid logoFFrance logo
  • A number of world-class stars have failed to win the Euro Championship in the past
  • Manuel Neuer and Kylian Mbappe are among the players who are yet to taste glory
  • The pair will be hoping to give the tournament another go during the 2024 edition

PAY ATTENTION: Checkout Fixtures; Live Scores; Results and Tables section on Sports Brief and never miss out on the action ⚽️

The UEFA European Championship is one of the most prestigious football tournaments in the world.

Initially called the European Nations Cup, the continental tournament was not held until 1960, and only a handful of teams participated.

However, the competition has since gained popularity, leading to its expansion to eight teams in 1980 before reaching its current 16-team format in 1996.

Manuel Neuer and Kylian Mbappe are among the players who are yet to taste glory. Photo by Kristian Skeie.
Manuel Neuer and Kylian Mbappe are among the players who are yet to taste glory at the UEFA European Championships. Photo by Kristian Skeie.
Source: Getty Images

Held every four years, Marca reports that the Soviet Union were the first team to win the tournament held in Paris.

Since then, a number of teams have laid their hands on the trophy, with Germany and Spain among the teams who have won it most times.

In the process, several top players have lifted the trophy, with Andres Iniesta winning it on two occasions.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Zinedine Zidane, Michel Platini, and Xavi Hernandez are among the world-class players who have previously won the competition with their respective countries.

However, several others, despite their success elsewhere, have never won the crown.

As the 2024 edition of the tournament gets underway in Germany, Sports Brief takes a look at seven world-class players who have never won the Euros.

7 world-class stars who have never won at Euros

7. Manuel Neuer (Germany)

A legend between the posts, Manuel Neuer has redefined the role of goalkeeper.

While his trophy cabinet overflows with accolades for Bayern Munich, the European Championship remains elusive.

Neuer was instrumental in Germany's 2014 FIFA World Cup triumph, but the Euros have proven more challenging.

He came agonisingly close in 2012 and 2016, when Germany lost in the semi-finals to Italy and France, respectively.

6. Philip Lahm (Germany)

Philipp Lahm is undeniably among the greatest defenders of his generation.

Initially a midfielder, Lahm's remarkable adaptability saw him excel as a right-back.

Like Neuer, he secured numerous titles with Bayern Munich and lifted the World Cup in 2014. However, the European Championship remained unconquered.

He made it to the 2008 Euros final, but Germany fell short to Spain's solitary goal.

5. Steven Gerrard (England)

Steven Gerrard enjoyed an illustrious club career with Liverpool, where he famously orchestrated the Reds' historic 2005 Champions League victory.

However, replicating that magic on the international stage proved elusive.

Despite England boasting a 'golden generation' of talent, they never reached a European Championship or World Cup semi-final during Gerrard's tenure.

Their closest calls were group-stage exits at Euro 2000 and knockout defeats to Portugal in 2004 and Italy in 2012.

4. Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium)

Kevin De Bruyne is undoubtedly one of the best midfielders of his generation.

While his trophy cabinet is decorated with successes from his time at Manchester City, international glory has remained a nightmare.

According to GiveMeSport, in 2016, Belgium's Euro campaign was halted by a quarter-final defeat to Wales, with Euro 2020 seeing a similar fate against eventual champions, Italy.

De Bruyne has a chance to give the Euro another shot this summer.

3. Frank Lampard (England)

The Chelsea legend is one of the other finest footballers who never tasted Euro glory.

Despite amassing over 100 caps and 40 goal contributions for England, Lampard's international career is often remembered for near misses.

2. Gareth Bale (Wales)

Gareth Bale's career underwent remarkable transformations before he finally hit the right notes.

The Welshman initially started out as a left-back before he transitioned to a pacey winger.

While he never won the Euros, Bale was instrumental in helping Wales improve significantly.

Having not qualified for the Euros since 1988, the nation stormed back onto the scene in 2016 under Bale's leadership.

1. Kylian Mbappe (France)

Kylian Mbappé's international career has been a tale of contrasting fortunes.

He burst onto the scene at the 2018 World Cup, becoming the second teenager after Pelé to score in the final.

However, the same has not been quite translated to the Euros.

At his only appearance in the tournament so far, Mbappé and France were disappointingly knocked out in the Round of 16 by Switzerland on penalties.

The forward will have another go for the title in the 2024 edition.

Euro 2024: 6 dark horse teams set for upsets in Germany

Sports Brief also previously reported on the six Euro 2024 dark horse teams ready to upset the competition at the edition in Germany.

Greece, Denmark, and Portugal have all previously surprised the football world with their European triumphs and could do that again.

Fred Kennedy photo
Fred Kennedy
Editor - Europe Team
Frank Lampard