Gor Mahia: List of Years Perennial Kenyan Champions Have Lifted the Premier League Title

Gor Mahia: List of Years Perennial Kenyan Champions Have Lifted the Premier League Title

Robert Abong'o
May 20, 2024 at 7:46 AM
In this article:
Gor Mahia logo
Gor Mahia
Kenyan Premier League logo
KEN Premier League
  • Gor Mahia have won the Kenyan Premier League title a record 21 times
  • The club's success spans decades, with their first title coming in 1968
  • K'Ogalo have impressively won the league title 11 times in the modern era

PAY ATTENTION: Checkout Fixtures; Live Scores; Results and Tables section on Sports Brief and never miss out on the action ⚽️

Gor Mahia, one of Kenya's most storied football clubs, has once again engraved its name in football folklore.

K'Ogalo retained the Football Kenya Federation Premier League (FKFPL) title on Sunday, May 20, securing their 21st championship.

This came after a decisive 3-0 victory over Muhoroni Youth at the SportPesa Arena with three matches remaining in the season.

Perennial Kenyan champions, Gor Mahia, have won the league title a record 21 times. Photo: @Gormahiake
Gor Mahia have now won the Kenyan Premier League title a record 21 times. Photo: @Gormahiake
Source: Instagram

As they celebrate yet another milestone, Sports Brief reflects on their illustrious journey through the years.

Gor Mahia's dominance in Kenyan football began in earnest during the late 1960s. Their first league title came in 1968, marking the beginning of a storied legacy, as per FIFA. The team capitalized on this initial success and added another title in 1974, setting the stage for future victories.

The Golden Era: Late 70s to early 90s

The late 1970s and the 1980s were truly the golden years for Green Army. The club secured the championship in 1976 and dominated the scene with victories in 1979, 1983, 1984, and 1985. These years were marked by a formidable squad and a growing fan base that energized the team.

The pinnacle of this era was undoubtedly 1987, a year in which they won the league and made history by winning the African Cup Winners’ Cup, becoming the first and only Kenyan club to achieve such a feat. This international success cemented their status as a powerhouse in African football.

The momentum continued into the 1990s, as they won the league in 1990, 1991, 1993, and 1995. This decade further solidified their reputation, as they faced tough competition but consistently emerged on top.

However, the early 2000s were challenging for the club. Financial difficulties and management issues dipped their performance, and it took several years for Gor Mahia to reclaim its former glory.

Gor Mahia resurgence and dominance

The club's resurgence began in 2013, a year that marked the start of an unprecedented era of dominance. From then to 2019, K'Ogalo won the league six times (2013, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019). This era showcased the club's ability to rebuild and adapt, bringing in new talents and fostering a winning mentality.

Tusker FC interrupted this streak only in 2016 and again in 2021. Nevertheless, Gor quickly bounced back, demonstrating their resilience and unwavering pursuit of excellence.

In recent years, they have continued asserting dominance in the FKFPL. They won the league in 2020 and 2023, maintaining their position as the team to beat in Kenyan football. The 2024 season has been particularly impressive, with K'Ogalo topping the table standings with 67 points, 11 points clear of second-placed Brewers, as per Nation.

McKinstry praises Gor Mahia players' grit

Sports Brief reported that Gor Mahia boss, Johnathan McKinstry, praised his team's determination after securing a 1-0 win against Nairobi City Stars in a league match on February 17.

The match saw Benson Omalla end his seven-game goal drought by striking early.

Omalla's goal, his 10th of the season and first since December 9, 2023, came just four minutes into the game after he received a well-executed pass from new signing Shariff Musa.

Robert Abong'o photo
Robert Abong'o
Editor - Africa Team