Top 5 Longest Title Winning Streaks in Europe After Leverkusen End Bayern’s 11 Year Dominance

Top 5 Longest Title Winning Streaks in Europe After Leverkusen End Bayern’s 11 Year Dominance

Elijah Odetokun
April 15, 2024 at 10:51 AM
In this article:
Bayern Munich logo
Bayern Munich
Bayer Leverkusen logo
Bayer Leverkusen
Celtic FC logo
Celtic F.C.
Juventus logo
Lyon logo
Glasgow Rangers logo
Rangers F.C.
  • Bayer Leverkusen are Bundesliga winners for the first time in history
  • They have ended Bayern Munich's streak of 11 consecutive titles
  • Bayern have the longest title-winning streak in European football

Bayer Leverkusen are the first team other than Bayern Munich to win the German Bundesliga after beating Werder Bremen 5-0 to clinch the first title in their history.

Since Jupp Heynckes kicked off the streak in the 2012/13 season, the Bavarian giants have won 11 straight titles despite having seven different managers within that time.

Thomas Tuchel, Bayern Munich, German Bundesliga, Allianz Arena.
Thomas Tuchel stares at the trophy after winning the 2023 Bundesliga title with Bayern Munich. Photo by Alexander Hassenstein.
Source: Getty Images

Sports Brief looks at the top five title-winning streaks in European football.

Longest title-winning streaks in Europe

1. Bayern Munich

Per ESPN, Germany's most successful club, Bayern's 11 straight titles is a European record. In the same period, they have won two trebles, in the 2012/13 season and 2019/20, underlining how incredible their dominance was.

2. Juventus

Italian giants Juventus won nine consecutive Serie A titles between 2012 and 2020. Since losing the streak to Inter Milan in 2021, different clubs have won the title in Italy. Per Sky Sports, Antonio Conte started Juve's streak and ended it with Inter.

2. Celtic

Celtic jointly hold the longest streak in Scottish football with nine consecutive titles won between the 2011/12 and 2019/20 seasons before it was broken by Glasgow Rangers who won an unbeaten title under Steven Gerrard in 2021. The Hoops resumed a year later and are on course for their third straight title this year. They've done it twice, having also had a streak between 1965 and 1974.

2. Rangers

Scotland's league record winners, Rangers, have won the title 55 times. They went on a streak of nine titles between 1988 and 1997. The streak was truncated by rivals Celtic, who won the 1997/98 title.

5. Olympique Lyon

Lyon have won the French Ligue 1 seven times, and incredibly, they did it in a row. They won their first title in the 2001/02 season and held on to it six more times till the 2007/08 season, a feat that not even Paris Saint-Germain have matched.

Earliest Bundesliga title wins

Sports Brief analysed the earliest Bundesliga title wins after Bayer Leverkusen won their first-ever German title on matchday 29 with five games to spare.

The record for the quickest league win belongs to Pep Guardiola's Bayern Munich, which won the title on matchday 27 with seven goals to go in the 2013/14 season.

Elijah Odetokun photo
Elijah Odetokun
Elijah Odetokun is Reuters-trained journalist with three years of experience having previously worked at Daily Times Nigeria, OmaSports and El Futbolero.