Arsenal vs Bayern Munich: Why Bukayo Saka Was Denied Late Penalty In Champions League Clash

Arsenal vs Bayern Munich: Why Bukayo Saka Was Denied Late Penalty In Champions League Clash

Isaac Darko
updated at April 10, 2024 at 6:42 AM
In this article:
Bukayo Saka logo
Arsenal logoFEngland logo
Arsenal logo
Bayern Munich logo
Bayern Munich
UEFA Champions League logo
  • Arsenal's last-minute penalty claim against Bayern Munich was rejected
  • Bukayo Saka fell in the penalty area after colliding with Manuel Neuer
  • The Gunners ended up with a draw against the Bavarians in London

Arsenal's exhilarating 2-2 deadlock against Bayern Munich in a UEFA Champions League quarter-final encounter was overshadowed by late-stage drama.

The Gunners were aiming to carry a 3-2 advantage into the second leg and believed they were unlucky not to be awarded a penalty to seal the game.

During the closing moments of the match, Bukayo Saka received a through ball and advanced into a promising position within Bayern's penalty box.

Bukayo Saka, Arsenal, Bayern Munich, Manuel Neuer, Champions League
Bukayo Saka was denied a late penalty for Arsenal against Bayern Munich in their Champions League quarter-final tie on April 9, 2024. Photo by Shaun Botterill.
Source: Getty Images

However, just as he was about to shoot, the winger fell down in apparent agony following a collision of legs with Bayern veteran, Manuel Neuer.

The English wideman expressed frustration at not being awarded a penalty, as neither the referee nor the VAR deemed the incident worthy of one.

Tribuna reported the reason the North London club were not awarded a penalty was because it did not constitute a clear and obvious error by the German goalkeeper.

Neuer's leg remained stationary as he came off his line. Saka inadvertently collided with him and many feel this has indicated the obstruction was not intentional.

The penalty wasn't awarded, yet Mikel Arteta's side still have much at stake in the upcoming second leg at the Allianz Arena next week with the aggregate score tied.

Ferdinand surprised by referee's decision

Meanwhile, ex-Manchester United defender, Rio Ferdinand, couldn't believe the centre referee hadn't signalled for a penalty.

Ferdinand told TNT Sports: "How has that not been given? I can’t believe it with VAR and everything. I can’t believe that has not been given."

Tuchel outraged after missed penalty call

This wasn't the only controversial incident to take place in the Arsenal versus Bayern Munich match, with Thomas Tuchel blasting the referee for not awarding a penalty after a bizarre incident.

Gabriel had picked up the ball inside his own box after the Gunners' goalkeeper, David Raya, issued a short pass to him from a goal kick, with the whistle blown to show the ball was already live.

Isaac Darko photo
Isaac Darko
Isaac Darko is a La Liga, Ligue 1 and Bundesliga editor at Sports Brief with a Degree in Journalism and Communications from Ghana Institute of Journalism (2010)