President Tinubu, 22 Governors Heading to Ivory Coast for Nigeria's 4th AFCON Title Hunt

President Tinubu, 22 Governors Heading to Ivory Coast for Nigeria's 4th AFCON Title Hunt

Babajide Orevba
updated at February 9, 2024 at 8:16 AM
In this article:
Nigeria logo
Ivory Coast logo
Cote DIvoire
Ivory Coast
CAF Africa Cup of Nations logo
  • The AFCON 2023 final is slated for the famous Alassane Ouattara Stadium in Ebimpe, Abidjan
  • The Super Eagles of Nigeria will battle the Elephants of Cote d'Ivoire for the ultimate prize
  • Top government officials led by President Bola Tinubu are billed to arrive for the showdown

President Bola Tinubu of Nigeria will be in Ivory Coast as Nigeria battle the host nation for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations title.

The stage is set for the final match of the 34th edition of the continental showpiece billed for the Alassane Ouattara Stadium in Ebimpe, Abidjan, on Sunday, February 11.

Nigeria defeated South Africa via a penalty shootout following a pulsating semi-final clash in Bouake to book a place in the final.

Bola Tinubu, Nigeria, AFCON 2023, Super Eagles, Ivory Coast.
Bola Tinubu is billed to grace the AFCON 2023 final in Ivory Coast. Photo: Hollie Adam.
Source: Getty Images

The hosts, on the other hand, pipped DR Congo 1-0 to book a place in this year's final, per Al Jazeera.

It was gathered that President Tinubu and his wife, Oluremi, will grace the occasion as Nigeria seek their fourth continental title.

At least 22 state governors are also said to be on the cards to see the Super Eagles trade tackles with the Elephants.

Ministers, National Assembly members, and captains of industries are also expected to be in attendance at the AFCON 2023 final.

Shortly after the Super Eagles' training session at the Écoles de la police nationale in Abidjan on Thursday, a source who pleaded anonymity told Sports Brief:

"President Bola Tinubu is coming here for the final along with his wife. In fact, about 22 governors are also expected, so it will be a full house on Sunday.
"Cabinet members and ministers will be here for the game against Ivory Coast as well."

Nigeria are three-time African champions, having won the prestigious title in 1980, 1994 and 2013.

Nwabali leads Golden Glove contenders

Sports Brief earlier reported that as the 2023 TotalEnergies African Cup of Nations nears its conclusion, four goalkeepers have risen as heroes for their respective nations and are prime contenders for the prestigious Golden Glove Award.

Stanley Nwabali of Nigeria and South Africa's Ronwen Williams have showcased exceptional performances in goal, leading their teams to the latter stages of the tournament.

A man-mountain of a goalkeeper, Nwabali leads the competition for the Golden Glove award as the AFCON nears its conclusion.

Babajide Orevba photo
Babajide Orevba
Babajide Orevba is a CAF accredited Nigerian journalist and HOD of the Local Desk with over 10 years of experience in media landscape.He studied NCE Political Science/Social Studies, AOCOED.