Nigeria’s AFCON Championships: When the Super Eagles Won the Title in 1980, 1994, and 2013

Nigeria’s AFCON Championships: When the Super Eagles Won the Title in 1980, 1994, and 2013

Joel Reyes
updated at February 3, 2024 at 6:52 AM
In this article:
Nigeria logo
Ademola Lookman logo
A. Lookman
Atalanta logoFNigeria logo
Victor Osimhen logo
V. Osimhen
Napoli logoFNigeria logo
CAF Africa Cup of Nations logo
  • The Super Eagles have won three Africa Cup of Nations titles in their history
  • They first won the championship in 1980 when they beat Algeria in the final
  • Nigeria captured two more AFCON titles in 1994 and 2013

Nigeria moved ever closer to winning their fourth Africa Cup of Nations title after they defeated Angola 1-0 in the quarter-finals on Friday.

Ademola Lookman sent Nigerian fans into a frenzy when he scored the eventual match-winner in the 41st minute.

Sports Brief looks at the Super Eagles' past championships in this event as they look to add new silverware here in Ivory Coast.

Nigeria, AFCON, AFCON 2013, AFCON 2023, AFCON 1994, AFCON 1980, Africa Cup of Nations, Victor Osimhen, Ademola Lookman
Nigeria's football team poses with the president after they win the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations title. Image: PIUS UTOMI EKPEI.
Source: Getty Images

Nigeria's AFCON titles

Super Eagles win first title in 1980

The Super Eagles made history in 1980, capturing their first-ever Africa Cup of Nations title in front of their home fans.

They started their campaign by finishing top of Group A, recording wins against Tanzania and Egypt and holding Ivory Coast to a goalless draw.

Nigeria preserved their unbeaten record in the knockout rounds, beating Morocco 1-0 in the semi-finals and ousting Algeria 3-0 in the final, per The Cable.

Segun Odegbami gave the Super Eagles a dream start in the championship match, scoring a goal in the second minute. He doubled his goal tally in the 42nd minute to give Nigeria a 2-0 lead at the break.

Muda Lawal completed the rout for Nigeria, scoring their third goal in the 50th minute.

Odegbami won the tournament's Golden Boot award while Christian Chukwu took home the Best Player honours.

Super Eagles win second championship in 1994

Nigeria waited 14 years to win their second championship, taking home the crown in the 1994 edition.

They advanced to the knockout round after finishing second in Group B behind Egypt.

Nigeria eased past Zaire 2-0 in the quarters thanks to a second-half double by Rashidi Yekini. The Super Eagles were pushed to the limit by Ivory Coast in the semis, with Nigeria recording a 4-2 win in the penalty shootout.

Nigeria had to dig deep in the championship match after surrendering an early goal to Zambia in the third minute.

The Super Eagles issued a quick reply, with Emmanuel Amuneke scoring the equaliser in the fifth minute. He then gave Nigeria a lead they would never relinquish, scoring his second goal in the 47th minute.

Yekini won the Golden Boot award in that competition with five goals. He also took home the Best Player award, per Premium Times.

Super Eagles win third title in 2013

Nigeria waited 19 years to win their third title, taking home the championship in the 2013 edition.

The Super Eagles advanced to the knockout stage after finishing second in Group B.

Nigeria edged past Ivory Coast 2-1 in the quarters and crushed Mali 4-1 in the semis to set up a mouth-watering final showdown with Burkina Faso.

Sunday Mba starred for the Super Eagles in the championship match, scoring the game's lone goal in the 40th minute.

Emmanuel Emenike finished as the tournament's top scorer with four goals.

Lookman makes history vs. Angola

Sports Brief recently reported on Lookman making history at this year's AFCON.

He became the fourth Nigerian player to score three goals in the knockout stage of an AFCON tournament.

He scored a brace against Cameroon in the Round of 16 before netting the match-winner against Angola in the quarters.

Joel Reyes photo
Joel Reyes
Joel Reyes is a sports editor at with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism from the University of the Philippines. He has eight years of work experience in sports writing.