AFCON 2023: Golden Boot Leaders For Each Country in Last 16 of Africa Cup of Nations

AFCON 2023: Golden Boot Leaders For Each Country in Last 16 of Africa Cup of Nations

Joel Reyes
updated at February 13, 2024 at 11:54 AM
In this article:
Emilio Nsue logo
E. Nsue
-FEquatorial Guinea logo
Mostafa Mohamed logo
M. Mohamed
Nantes logoFEgypt logo
Themba Zwane logo
T. Zwane
-MSouth Africa logo
Lassine Sinayoko logo
L. Sinayoko
AJ Auxerre logoFMali logo
Lamine Camara logo
L. Camara
Metz logoMSenegal logo
Bertrand Traoré logo
B. Traoré
Villarreal logoMBurkina Faso logo
Gelson Dala logo
-FAngola logo
Victor Osimhen logo
V. Osimhen
Napoli logoFNigeria logo
Vincent Aboubakar logo
V. Aboubakar
Besiktas JK logoFCameroon logo
CAF Africa Cup of Nations logo
  • Emilio Nsue scored five goals for Equatorial Guinea in the group stage
  • Mostafa Mohamed found the back of the net three times for Egypt
  • Themba Zwane leads all Bafana Bafana scorers with two goals

The AFCON 2023 Golden Boot race is heating up.

Emilio Nsue has emerged as the favourite to win the prestigious award after scoring five goals in the group stage.

His victory is far from certain, though, with many contenders from other teams looking to pounce in the knockout round.

Emilio Nsue, Mostafa Mohamed, AFCON, Victor Osimhen, Mohamed Salah
Equatorial Guinea's Emilio Nsue and Egypt's Mostafa Mohamed in action at AFCON 2023. Images: Visionhaus/ Franck Fife.
Source: Getty Images

Here are the scoring leaders for each country that made it to the last 16 of the Africa Cup of Nations.

AFCON 2023 scoring leaders for each team

Emilio Nsue (Equatorial Guinea, 5 goals)

Nsue has been on fire in this year's Africa Cup of Nations, netting five goals for Equatorial Guinea to lead all scorers in this tournament, per Graphic.

He scored a hat-trick in the win against Guinea-Bissau and nabbed a brace in the upset victory over Ivory Coast.

Mostafa Mohamed (Egypt, 3 goals)

Mohamed is tied for second in the Golden Boot race with three goals scored in the group stage.

He helped Egypt advance to the last 16, scoring a goal in each of the Pharaohs' 2-2 draws against Mozambique, Ghana, and Cape Verde. He's the team's leading scorer, not Mohamed Salah, who's out with a hamstring injury.

Themba Zwane (South Africa, 2 goals)

Zwane delivered when his country needed him the most, scoring a brace in South Africa's 4-0 victory over Namibia. He is Bafana Bafana's leading scorer heading into the knockout round.

Lassine Sinayoko (Mali, 2 goals)

Sinayoko is Mali's leading scorer in this tournament. He found the back of the net twice in the group stage, scoring in the games against South Africa and Tunisia.

Lamine Camara (Senegal, 2 goals)

Camara helped the defending champions reach the last 16, scoring twice in the group stage.

He scored a brace in the Teranga Lions' group opener against Gambia. He's the team's leading scorer, not Sadio Mane, who has recorded just one goal thus far.

Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso, 2 goals)

Burkina Faso's last-16 appearance wouldn't be possible without the brilliance of Bertrand Traore. He scored the match-winner in the game against Mauritania and nabbed a goal in the 2-2 draw against Algeria.

Gelson Dala and Mabululu (Angola, 2 goals)

Gelson and Mabululu lead Angola in scoring in this tournament, recording two goals apiece in the group stage.

Dala scored a brace in Angola's 3-2 win over Mauritania. Mabululu, on the other hand, scored important goals against Algeria and Burkina Faso to help the Palancas Negras book a spot in the last 16.

Aguibou Camara, Mohamed Bayo (Guinea, 1 goal)

Camara and Bayo lead Guinea in scoring in this year's AFCON with one goal apiece. Camara scored his goal in the game against Gambia, while Bayo netted his in the 1-1 draw against Cameroon.

Osimhen, Troost-Ekoong (Nigeria, 1 goal)

Victor Osimhen and William Troost-Ekoong lead the Super Eagles in scoring in this tournament with one goal apiece.

Osimhen scored Nigeria's lone goal in the 1-1 draw against Equatorial Guinea, while Troost-Ekoong recorded the match-winning penalty against Ivory Coast.

Fofana, Krasso (Ivory Coast, 1 goal)

The Elephants have scored just two goals in this tournament, both of which came in the game against Guinea-Bissau. Seko Fofana and Jean-Philippe Krasso each scored a goal for Ivory Coast in that contest.

7 players tied with 1 goal (Cape Verde)

Cape Verde went undefeated in the group stage, and they didn't rely on one player to get the job done.

Seven different players scored a goal for the Blue Sharks in Group B, namely Jamiro Monteiro, Garry Rodrigues, Bebe, Ryan Mendes, Kevin Pina, Gilson Tavares, and Bryan Silva Teixeira Jr.

4 players tied with 1 goal (Cameroon)

Four different players scored a goal for the Indomitable Lions in Group C. They are Frank Magri, Jean-Charles Castelletto, Karl Toko Ekambi, and Christopher Wooh.

3 players tied with 1 goal (Mauritania)

Three different players scored a goal for Mauritania in the group stage. They are Sidi Bouna Amar, Aboubakary Koita, and Mohamed Dellah Yaly.

Deon Hotto (Namibia, 1 goal)

The Brave Warriors scored just one goal in this year's AFCON and that was enough for them to reach the last 16 for the first time in their history.

Hotto gave Namibia their first-ever win in the competition, scoring the match-winner against Tunisia in the 88th minute, per Supersport.

5 players tied with 1 goal (Morocco)

Five different players scored a goal for Morocco in the group stage. They are Romain Saiss, Azzedine Ounahi, Youssef En-Nesyri, Achraf Hakimi, and Hakim Ziyech.

Wissa, Silas (DR Congo, 1 goal)

The Leopards have scored just two goals in this tournament. Yoane Wissa and Silas each found the back of the net for DR Congo.

AFCON Golden Boot winners

Sports Brief also previously reported on past AFCON Golden Boot winners.

Cameroon's Vincent Aboubakar captured that award in 2022 with five goals.

Jude Ighalo won the Golden Boot race in 2019, scoring five goals for Nigeria.

Joel Reyes photo
Joel Reyes
Joel Reyes is a sports editor at with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism from the University of the Philippines. He has eight years of work experience in sports writing.