Managers With Most FIFA Club World Cup Trophies As Guardiola Moves Past Ancelotti

Managers With Most FIFA Club World Cup Trophies As Guardiola Moves Past Ancelotti

Elijah Odetokun
updated at February 13, 2024 at 11:54 AM
In this article:
FIFA World Cup logo
FIFA World Cup
  • Manchester City will play Fluminense in the FIFA Club World Cup final
  • City boss Pep Guardiola made history after the treble winners won
  • He was previously tied with Real Madrid's Carlo Ancelotti with three titles

Manchester City strolled past Urawa Reds in the FIFA Club World Cup semi-final to set a final showdown on Friday with Fluminense, who beat Al Ahly in the other semi-final.

Pep Guardiola made history as the manager with the most wins in the competition after his team overcame the Copa Libertadores champions 4-0 in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

Pep Guardiola, Manchester City, Urawa Red Diamond, FIFA Club World Cup, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
Pep Guardiola passing instructions to his players during their 3-0 win over Urawa Reds in the semi-final of the FIFA Club World Cup. Photo by Jose Breton.
Source: Getty Images

Sports Brief looks at the top 3 managers with the most wins in the tournament, as listed by Transfermarkt.

Managers with most FIFA CWC wins

1. Pep Guardiola

One of the greatest managers of all time, Pep Guardiola has now won the competition four times - twice with Barcelona after winning the UEFA Champions League and the third after taking over Bayern Munich, who won the 2013 UCL. He won his fourth with Man City.

1. Carlo Ancelotti

Per Sportskeeda, Carlo Ancelotti is the most decorated manager in the history of the Champions League, with four titles - two with AC Milan and two with Real Madrid. However, he has won the CWC thrice, missing out in 2003 when it was cancelled.

2. Zinedine Zidane

The French manager led Real Madrid to three consecutive Champions League triumphs but won only two CWC crowns. He briefly left the club after his third victory and Santiago Solari coached Madrid for the 2018 edition, which they won.

11 managers are tied on one trophy each, including the legendary Sir Alex Ferguson, who won it in 2009, Luis Enrique with Barcelona in 2015, Hansi Flick with Bayern in 2021, Jürgen Klopp with Liverpool in 2020, and Thomas Tuchel with Chelsea in 2022.

Jose Mourinho has never won the competition despite winning two UCLs - on both occasions, he left the club immediately after winning at Europe's highest level.

Exciting news! We have a WhatsApp channel 🤩

➡️ Click to join our channel for all your favourite sports news.

Ancelotti hails Mourinho as the greatest

Sports Brief previously reported on Carlo Ancelotti hailing Mourinho as the greatest, defending their famous way of play - defensive tactics - despite claims it is outdated.

The two veteran managers have also managed Chelsea, have each managed one of the Milan clubs, and have massive respect for each other and their respective successes.

Elijah Odetokun photo
Elijah Odetokun
Elijah Odetokun is Reuters-trained journalist with three years of experience having previously worked at Daily Times Nigeria, OmaSports and El Futbolero.
Pep GuardiolaCarlo Ancelotti