CAF Awards: Super Falcons beat Banyana Bayana, 3 others to Emerge Women’s National Team of the Year

CAF Awards: Super Falcons beat Banyana Bayana, 3 others to Emerge Women’s National Team of the Year

Babajide Orevba
updated at February 13, 2024 at 11:54 AM
  • Super Falcons of Nigeria have been named the 2023 CAF Women's National Team of the Year
  • Nigeria won the prestigious award ahead of South Africa and three others
  • The Super Falcons reached the last 16 of the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup before England knocked them out

The Super Falcons have been named the Women’s Team of the Year at the CAF 2023 Awards off the back of an impressive showing at the World Cup earlier in the year.

Nigeria edged four other nominees to the prestigious prize during the CAF Awards ceremony in Marrakech, Morocco, on Monday night, December 11.

Other Women's national teams nominated for the award were Morocco, Senegal, South Africa and Zambia.

Nigeria, Super Falcons, Randy Waldrum, CAF Awards
Super Falcons are named the 2023 CAF Women's National Team of the Year. Photo: Zac Goodwin
Source: Getty Images

Despite being drawn in the dangerous Group B at the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup during the summer, the Super Falcons did not lose any game in regulation time before they exited in the second round via penalties.

They played a goalless draw with Canada in their opening group game before defeating co-hosts Australia 3-2 in an intense second match.000000000

They were held to another goalless draw by the Republic of Ireland in their final group game, and they progressed to the knockout stage, Sky Sports reports.

Led by Randy Waldrum, Nigeria gave a good account of themselves against England Women in the Round of 16 before losing 4-2 via a penalty shootout.

They exit the tournament with their heads high, drawing applause from home and beyond. They have also qualified for next year's Africa Women Cup of Nations, with many branding them as the tournament favourites.

Percy Tau wins big at CAF Awards 2023

Sports Brief earlier reported that South Africa forward Percy Tau was named the Interclub Player of the Year at the 2023 CAF Awards in Morocco.

The former Brighton and Hove Albion winger beat competition from DR Congo's Fiston Mayele and Mamelodi Sundowns forward Peter Shahalulile to win the award.

Tau enjoyed an outstanding season with the Red Devils, emerging as the player with the most goal contributions as Al-Ahly reclaimed the CAF Champions League.

Babajide Orevba photo
Babajide Orevba
Babajide Orevba is a CAF accredited Nigerian journalist and HOD of the Local Desk with over 10 years of experience in media landscape.He studied NCE Political Science/Social Studies, AOCOED.