Sadio Mane, Victor Osimhen Named in 10 Man Final Shortlist for 2023 CAF Player of the Year Award

Sadio Mane, Victor Osimhen Named in 10 Man Final Shortlist for 2023 CAF Player of the Year Award

Jarryd Westerdale
updated at November 18, 2023 at 4:15 AM
In this article:
CAF Champions League logo
CAF Champions League
Mohamed Salah logo
M. Salah
Liverpool logoFEgypt logo
Victor Osimhen logo
V. Osimhen
Napoli logoFNigeria logo
Sadio Mané logo
S. Mané
Al Nassr FC logoFSenegal logo
  • CAF have announced their candidates for the continental Player of the Year award
  • Egyptian King Mohammed Salah and Nigerian ace Victor Osimhen are on the 10-man list
  • The CAF Awards will be held in Marrakech on December 11 to honour African excellence

The greatest names in African football will fight for top honours.

The Confederation of African Football has announced their list of nominees for the annual CAF Awards to be held in Morocco.

As well as Player of the Year and Coach of the Year there are seven categories to go through, with seven for the women's awards.

CAF Awards nominees, Sadio Mane, Victor Osimhen, Mo Salah.
Sadio Mane and Victor Osimhen will fight with Mo Salah for the title of 2023 CAF Player of the Year. Photos. @flemingracool, @brfootball and @JacksonChelse17.
Source: Twitter

The winners in each category are decided by votes cast by the CAF Technical Committee, members of the media and national team coaches and captains.

An Interclub Player of the Year award is available to African players who play their club football on the continent.

Among the frontrunners in that 10-man list are Namibia and Mamelodi Sundowns striker, Peter Shalulile, South Africa and Al Ahly playmaker Percy Tau and his Al Ahly teammate, Ali Maaloul.

The remaining categories have only five nominees and will be awarded for goalkeeper, young player, coach, national team and club of the year.

Here is the full list of the Player of the Year nominees:

  • Riyad Mahrez (Algeria, Al Ahli)
  • Andre Anguissa (Cameroon, SSC Napoli)
  • Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon, Besiktas)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)
  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Sofyan Amrabat (Morocco, Manchester United)
  • Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)
  • Youssef En-Nesyri (Morocco, Sevilla)
  • Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, SSC Napoli)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal, Al Nassr)

The CAF Awards ceremony will be held on Monday, December 11 at the Palais des Congrès in Marrakech.

Exciting news! We have a WhatsApp channel 🤩

➡️ Click to join our channel for all your favourite sports news.

Women's CAF Awards nominees

Sports Brief recently compiled a list of the women in line for recognition at the 2023 CAF Awards.

On it are seven Nigerians, six South Africans, and five Moroccans. while Zambia and Malawi have two each.

The Interclub award will go to the best player who plays for their country as well as an African club.

Jarryd Westerdale photo
Jarryd Westerdale
Jarryd Westerdale (based in Johannesburg) joined Sports Brief after four years in the community journalism sphere. He is a two-time Alet Roux Award winner and was a finalist in multiple categories at the Forum of Community Journalism Excellence Awards.