Ranking The Top 7 Oldest Goalscorers in Premier League History

Ranking The Top 7 Oldest Goalscorers in Premier League History

Isaac Darko
updated at February 13, 2024 at 11:54 AM
In this article:
English Premier League logo
ENG Premier League
  • These players exemplified that in sports, age is merely a number
  • Age is just a bar, and some players have proved it in their careers
  • Here are the six oldest goalscorers in Premier League history

Thiago Silva made history during Chelsea's 4-4 draw with Manchester City on Sunday by becoming the first player aged 39 or older to score a Premier League goal since Ryan Giggs in 2013.

Despite this notable achievement, neither Silva nor Giggs holds the record for the oldest goalscorer in Premier League history.

It is interesting to note that Silva is the only non-British player to score in the EPL beyond their 39th birthday.

Here are the top 6 oldest goalscorers in Premier League history.
Here are the top 6 oldest goalscorers in Premier League history. Photos by Shaun Botterill/Owen Humphreys/Robin Jones
Source: Getty Images

Sports Brief takes a look at the 6 oldest goalscorers in Premier League history:

7. Mark Hughes (38 years 4 months 26 days)

Mark Hughes, renowned for his managerial stints with Wales, Stoke City, and Southampton, enjoyed a distinguished career as a striker with Manchester United and Chelsea. However, his trajectory took a downturn after departing Chelsea in 1998, mainly due to a positional shift from forward to central midfield.

Hughes, the Welshman, marked his final goal against Leicester City on March 30, 2002. At the age of 38 years, four months, and 26 days, he headed the ball into the net from a free-kick, equalizing the score to 1-1. Despite his effort, Leicester City ultimately emerged victorious with a 2-1 win.

6. Graham Alexander (38 years 6 months)

Graham Alexander, the Scotsman, boasts the joint-longest career record spanning from 1988 to 2012. Despite his extensive career, he only played in the Premier League for a single season, during which he impressively scored seven goals. Notably recognized for his exceptional penalty-taking skills, Alexander converted an incredible 77 goals from penalties, showcasing a remarkable conversion rate of over 90%.

His final goal in the Premier League occurred on April 10, 2010, against Hull City. True to form, it was a penalty, and he achieved this feat at the age of 38 years and six months. Alexander's two penalty goals contributed to Burnley's 4-1 victory over Hull City, although Burnley, unfortunately, faced relegation in that season.

5. Stuart Pearce (38 years 7 months)

Stuart Pearce, affectionately known as "Psycho," marked his final Premier League goal at the age of 38 years and seven months. The seasoned left-back scored against Southampton on November 25, 2000, contributing to his team's 2-1 lead at halftime. Pearce enjoyed some of his career highlights at West Ham United.

Notably, he was on the verge of receiving a national call-up for Euro 2000; however, an unfortunate broken leg prevented his selection. In the subsequent season, Pearce played for Manchester City, aiding them in securing promotion to the Premier League. His illustrious career concluded with a total of 99 goals, per GiveMeSport.

4. Thiago Silva (39 years)

The latest inclusion in this distinguished list, Chelsea's defensive stalwart, became the oldest scorer in the Premier League in over a decade.

He achieved this feat by placing the ball into the bottom corner of the net during an exhilarating 4-4 draw against Manchester City in the 12th game of the campaign.

Silva, often referred to as Chelsea's "Rolls-Royce" at the back, marked his sixth Premier League goal for the club since joining from Paris Saint-Germain on a free transfer in 2020.

3. Ryan Giggs (39 years 3 months)

Ryan Giggs, one of the most decorated players in the history of the beautiful game, served as an inspiration to many. He holds the remarkable record of scoring a goal in every Premier League season from 1992 to 2013. His final goal occurred on February 23, 2013, against Queen's Park Rangers, as he found the net in the 80th minute, contributing to Manchester United's lead at the top of the table. At the age of 39 years and three months, Giggs established himself as one of the oldest goalscorers in the Premier League.

Even in the twilight of his career, Giggs proved unstoppable. This notable achievement took place in Sir Alex Ferguson's last season as manager, coinciding with Manchester United's triumphant lift of the Premier League title.

2. Dean Windass (39 years 7 months 21 days)

The Englishman made a notable return to Hull in the 2007-08 season, having previously left the club in 1995. His decisive goal against Bristol City in the Championship final played a pivotal role in Hull City securing promotion to the prestigious Premier League for the first time in the club’s 104-year history.

His final goal in the Premier League occurred against Portsmouth on November 22, 2008, when he was 39 years, seven months, and 21 days old. This goal, initially controversially considered an own goal, was later credited to Windass. His crucial contribution allowed Hull to secure a draw, and the match concluded with a 2-2 scoreline.

1. Teddy Sheringham (40 years 8 months 24 days)

Teddy Sheringham, the former Manchester United striker, holds the distinction of being the only player to have scored a Premier League goal after crossing the age of 40 (40 years, eight months, and 24 days). Renowned as one of the most prolific strikers of the Premier League era, Sheringham showcased his goal-scoring prowess until a later stage in his career.

Per the Premier League, Shearer's last Premier League goal was scored on Boxing Day in 2006 against Portsmouth while playing for West Ham. Few players in the game can match his impressive record of 147 Premier League goals, solidifying his status as a true legend of the English top flight.

Isaac Darko photo
Isaac Darko
Isaac Darko is a La Liga, Ligue 1 and Bundesliga editor at Sports Brief with a Degree in Journalism and Communications from Ghana Institute of Journalism (2010)