CAF Awards 2023: Venue, Date, Time, How to Watch Awards

CAF Awards 2023: Venue, Date, Time, How to Watch Awards

Raphael Abiola
updated at February 13, 2024 at 11:54 AM
In this article:
Victor Osimhen logo
V. Osimhen
Napoli logoFNigeria logo
Sadio Mané logo
S. Mané
Al Nassr FC logoFSenegal logo
Mohamed Salah logo
M. Salah
Liverpool logoFEgypt logo
  • The 2023 CAF Awards is expected to be an interesting event as the best players in Africa are crowned
  • Victor Osimhen is one of the favourites but will need to bypass both Mohamed Salah and Achraf Hakimi
  • Sports Brief has the details on the venue, time, and date of the biggest footballing event in Africa

The 2023 CAF Awards, organised by the Confederation of African Football, is one of the most anticipated footballing events on the continent.

This year's edition comes with a new twist, as the governing body introduced the CAF African Goalkeeper of the Year Category for men and women.

Nigerian striker, Victor Osimhen is one of the favourites to win the CAF African Player of the Year, as are Paris Saint-Germain's Achraf Hakimi and Liverpool's Mohamed Salah.

Africa Footballer of the year
CAF Awards 2023 to be held in the central Moroccan city of Marrakech. Photo: @AfricaTopSport.
Source: Twitter

CAF Awards 2023: date, time, venue

The 2023 awards ceremony is scheduled to take place on Monday, December 11 this year in the central Moroccan city of Marrakech, according to CAF's official website.

Organisers have confirmed the venue for the prestigious event to be at the Movenpick Hotel, and suggested the event will start at exactly 19:00 local time.

How to watch the 2023 CAF Awards

The broadcasting rights owner for the ceremony is yet to be named, but the awards will definitely be broadcast by CAF's YouTube channel and other social media platforms, as with the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) draw.

SuperSport broadcasted the 2022 edition and are expected to do so again, although this has not yet been confirmed for the 29th edition.

Exciting news! We have a WhatsApp channel 🤩

➡️ Click to join our channel for all your favourite sports news.

CAF Player of the Year Awards Nominees

Sports Brief previously reported on Senegalese forward Mane, Nigeria's Osimhen and Arsenal's Thomas Partey being nominated for African Player of the Year.

The continent's superstar trio are joined by 27 other nominees for the coveted award, currently held by the Al-Nassr and Senegal forward after a year of wins.

In a list officially released by CAF earlier this week, West Ham United midfielder, Mohammed Kudus and Riyad Mahrez of Al-Ahli also made the awards shortlist.

Raphael Abiola photo
Raphael Abiola
Raphael Abiola is a Nigerian Sports Journalist with over five years of experience. He obtained a B.Tech degree in Computer Science from the Federal University of Technology, Akure, in 2015.