The complete list of all Ajax trophies throughout the club's history

The complete list of all Ajax trophies throughout the club's history

Kenneth Mwenda
updated at April 12, 2023 at 7:58 PM

What is the current number of Ajax trophies? What's the number of Ajax trophies won in Eredivisie compared with Feyenoord? Do you know that Ajax is one of only a few clubs to have earned the privilege to keep the European Cup and wear a multiple-winner badge, having won it three times in a row from 1971 to 1973? Johan Cruyff Shield, get to know why the shield bears the name. Get to know what is in the Ajax trophy cabinet.

The complete list of all Ajax trophies throughout the club's history.
Davy Klaassen and Daley Blind of Ajax celebrates with the trophies after the match against FC Emmen at the Johan Cruijff Arena on May 2, 2021. Photo by Angelo Blankespoor.
Source: Getty Images

AFC Ajax Amsterdam is one of Europe's most successful soccer clubs. They have won the European Cup/Champions League four times and are one of just three clubs in history to do so three times in a row, together with Real Madrid and Bayern Munich.

Ajax Trophies list

How many trophies does Ajax have? The club is one of the world's most successful. According to reports, the club was ranked 13th in 2020, with 70 titles. Currently, Ajax's total trophies number is 72, as shown below.


Titles: 35

Years: 1917–18, 1918–19, 1930–31, 1931–32, 1933–34, 1936–37, 1938–39, 1946–47, 1956–57, 1959–60, 1965–66, 1966–67, 1967–68, 1969–70, 1971–72, 1972–73, 1976–77, 1978–79, 1979–80, 1981–82, 1982–83, 1984–85, 1989–90, 1993–94, 1994–95, 1995–96, 1997–98, 2001–02, 2003–04, 2010–11, 2011–12, 2012–13, 2013–14, 2018–19, 2020–21.

With 35 being Ajax league trophies, the club holds the record for most titles won. PSV Eindhoven is next with 24, followed by Feyenoord with 15. The team is also in first place in the current season, and they are working hard to add the trophy to their collection.


Titles won: 20

Years: 1916–17, 1942–43, 1960–61, 1966–67, 1969–70, 1970–71, 1971–72, 1978–79, 1982–83, 1985–86, 1986–87, 1992–93, 1997–98, 1998–99, 2001–02, 2005–06, 2006–07, 2009–10, 2018–19, 2020–21

Since 1898, the Royal Dutch Football Association (KNVB) has conducted the KNVB Cup, a competition in the Netherlands. The format was inspired by the English F.A. Cup. It is commonly referred to as the Dutch Cup outside the Netherlands.

The 2019 final was won by Ajax, the defending champions, with the 2020 final being cancelled owing to the COVID-19 pandemic. After defeating Vitesse 2–1 in the final of 2020-21, Ajax successfully defended their title. The Dutch giants hold the record for most titles won, with Feyenoord Rotterdam second with 12 victories.

Johan Cruyff Shield

Titles won: 9

Years: 1993, 1994, 1995, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2013, 2019

The Johan Cruyff Shield, often known as the Dutch Super Cup, is a football trophy in the Netherlands named after Dutch footballer Johan Cruyff. On June 25, 1949, the first Super Cup match was held.

The league champions SVV defeated Quick 1888 2–0 in the cup final. Since 2017, the match has been held at the Eredivisie champions' stadium. The most successful team in the tournament is PSV Eindhoven, which has won 12 titles.

Ajax European trophies

According to sources, Ajax has also won the UEFA Europa League, UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, UEFA Super Cup twice, and the UEFA Champions League four times. The club has also finished second in three additional finals. Let us now see the number of trophies the club has won.

UEFA Champions League

Titles won: 4

Years: 1970–71, 1971–72, 1972–73, 1994–95

The complete list of all Ajax trophies throughout the club's history.
UEFA Champions League Final, Vienna, Austria, 24th May 1995. Photo by Popperfoto.
Source: Getty Images

After Real Madrid, AC Milan, Liverpool, Bayern Munich, and Barcelona, the club is the sixth most successful in European cup competitions, a great Ajax Champions League history. After the late goal in the final against defending champions Milan of Italy in 1995, Ajax won their last championship in the league.

UEFA Europa League

Titles won: 1

Years: 1991–92

Ajax of the Netherlands and Torino of Italy met in the 1992 UEFA Cup Final on April 29 and May 13, 1992. After a 2–2 draw in the first leg in Italy and a 0–0 draw in the second leg in the Netherlands, Ajax won on away goals. In May 2017, they lost their last final in the competition to Manchester united.

The complete list of all Ajax trophies throughout the club's history.
Manchester United's team celebrate with the trophy after they won the UEFA Europa League Final match against Ajax at Friends Arena on May 24, 2017 in Stockholm, Sweden. Photo by Raddad Jebarah.
Source: Getty Images

The Dutch giants became only the second club in history to win all three major European titles at the time, following Torino's city rivals Juventus. Bayern Munich, Chelsea, and Manchester United are currently on the list as well.

The most victories (thirteen) belong to Spanish clubs, which are followed by England and Italy (nine wins each). The title has been won by 29 clubs, with thirteen of them winning it multiple times. Sevilla is the most successful team in the league, having won six titles.

UEFA Cup Winners' Cup

Titles won: 1

Years: 1986–87

The UEFA Cup Champions' Cup was an annual European football club competition in which the winners of national cup competitions competed. In terms of chronology, the cup was UEFA's second seasonal inter-European club competition.

The first competition took place in 1960–61; however, it was organized by the Mitropa Cup Organising Committee and was not recognized by UEFA until 1963, when it was admitted as a UEFA competition at the insistence of the Italian Football Federation (FIGC). The event lasted 39 seasons, culminating in the 1998–99 edition, after which it was merged into the UEFA Cup.

UEFA Super Cup

Titles won: 2

Years: 1973, 1995

Ajax also won in 1972; however, the UEFA Super Cup was officially sanctioned for the first time in 1973; hence the 1972 edition was unofficial. It was played as a 'commemoration of the Centenary of Rangers F.C.' because Rangers were serving a one-year ban at the time imposed by UEFA for the misbehaviour of its fans.

Ajax had won every event they entered that year (5 in total), a feat Celtic had accomplished in 1967 (with 6 trophies), Barcelona in 2009 (6 trophies), and Bayern in 2020. (Also 6 trophies).

Following their elimination from the Champions League, Ajax's trophies number will most likely grow by one more Eredivisie title. This is a survey based on their present place in the tournament, which is now the most valuable.

READ ALSO: Top 10 ranking of the best Real Madrid legends of all time has also published an article about the Top 10 ranking of the best Real Madrid legends of all time. In addition, the article reveals the all-time greatest stars ever to grace Santiago Bernabeu.

It's no surprise that Cristiano Ronaldo, Raul, and Karim Benzema, Real Madrid's all-time leading scorers, are among them. For more Real Madrid legends, read here!

Kenneth Mwenda photo
Kenneth Mwenda
Kenneth Mwenda is a business and sports writer with over five years of experience. At Sportsbrief, he contributes to writing biographies and listicles.