DStv Premiership: Mamelodi Sundowns Continues Ruthless March Towards Title With Easy Win Over Chippa United

DStv Premiership: Mamelodi Sundowns Continues Ruthless March Towards Title With Easy Win Over Chippa United

Keba Mothoagae
updated at April 12, 2023 at 7:55 PM
  • Mamelodi Sundowns barely got out third gear for yet another win in the DStv Premiership on Tuesday night
  • Deflected goals from stalwart Andile Jali and debutant Teboho Mokoena were enough to see off a brave but overmatched Chippa United side
  • The result sees the Brazilians requiring five wins from their remaining 10 matches to win a record-extending fifth consecutive title

Goals from Andile Jali and Teboho Mokoena were more than enough to see Mamelodi Sundowns defeat Chippa United 2-0 at Loftus Versfeld in the DStv Premiership.

The victory saw Sundowns open the gap at the top of the table between them and Orlando Pirates to a mammoth 17 points with 10 matches to go for the log leaders. Mathematically, the Brazilians are now 16 points from winning the league title if the Buccaneers were to inconceivably win their remaining 11 matches on the trot.

dstv premiership, mamelodi sundowns, chippa united, 2-0, kurt lentjies, rhulani mokwena, andile jele, teboho mokoena, tuesday, 07 february 2022
Mamelodi Sundowns and Chippa United in action. Image source: @KickOffMagazine/Twitter
Source: Twitter

Both goals by the home side were off deflections, with Jali's strike coming in the 43rd minute, while Mokoena's debut goal for his new club sealed matters in the 87th minute. Aubrey Modiba was announced as the man-of-the-match after his impressive performance.

Chippa United can be proud of their effort, having had to play the match for 66 minutes after Siphesihle Mkhize was sent of in the 24th minute of the match.

Sundowns' enviable depth was there to see for everyone as they selected a ghost second XI ahead of their foray into Africa this coming weekend.

Sundowns: 1. Mweene, 40. Coetzee, 28. De Reuck, 6. B.Onyango, 27. Morena, 15. Jali, 17. Modiba, 29. Ralani, 32. Kutumela, 18. Zwane, 38. Shalulile. Subs: 30. Pieterse, 22. Mudau, 34. Mvala, 12. Maluleka, 26. Mokoena, 13. Lunga, 25. Kapinga, 24. Motupa, 10. Sirino.

Chippa: 19. Watenga, 29. Mthethwa, 5. Pietersen, 24. Zulu, 4. Hanamub, 26. Sangare, 14. Mkhize, 36. Luthuli, 20. Mdlinzo, 28. Lebitso, 9. Eva Nga Bienvenu. Subs: 16. Mtshali, 6. Seabi, 8. Maloisane, 10. Mokhele, 11. Ngele, 18. Makobela, 27. Sekgotlong, 35. Pfumbidzai, 45. Campher.

Keba Mothoagae photo
Keba Mothoagae
Editor- Local Desk
DStv PremiershipGhanaKenyaNigeriaSouth Africa