Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates Fans Get What They Want as Clubs Dominate Dstv Compact Cup Team

Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates Fans Get What They Want as Clubs Dominate Dstv Compact Cup Team

Keba Mothoagae
updated at April 12, 2023 at 7:54 PM
  • Unsurprisingly, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates players dominate the Warriors team which will participate the DStv Compact Cup
  • All but one player from either club will be on the run-on XI, with former Pirates player Thabo Matlaba being the exception
  • The competition starts this Saturday at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban, before concluding next Saturday at Soccer City in Johannesburg

To no one's surprise, Kaizer Chiefs and Orland Pirates players dominate one of the four teams which will participate in the much-maligned DStv Compact Cup staring on Saturday, 22 January.

The participating teams will be Amabutho (Coastal Group 1), Coastal United (Coastal Group 2), Dinaledi (Inland Group 1) and Warriors (Inland Group 2). The semifinals will take place at the Moses Mabhida Stadium, before the 3rd/4th place match and final unfold at Soccer City the week after.

itumeleng khune, dstv compact cup, dstv premiership, kaizer chiefs, orlando pirates
Itumeleng Khune remains a fan favourite besides sitting on the bench at Kaizer Chiefs. Image source: iDiski Times/Twitter
Source: Twitter

As reported on IOL, Chiefs and Pirates gave telegraphed who they'd rather see starting for their clubs judging by the pattern of voting for the Warriors team. It boasts all but one player from either club in the starting side XI.

It will include Itumeleng Khune, Njabulo Blom, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Njabulo Ncgobo and Keagan Dolly from Chiefs. Pirates will contribute Paseko Mako, Happy Jele, Thembinkosi Lorch, Deon Hotto and Kwame Peprah, with former Pirates defender Thabo Matlaba, now at Moroka Swallows, rounding off the team.

Fans continue to express their doubts over DStv Compact Cup: "It's a scam!"

The launch of the DStv Compact Cup was met with a fairly indifferent response by local football fans on social media.

The competition will take place in the week of 22 to 29 January, at the same time as the African Cup of Nations tournament South Africa did not qualify for.

The gimmicky competition is of a similar vein to the Carling Black Label Cup involving Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates, in that fans get to vote for what they want.

The twist, however, is that they get to select players they want to see from all 16 clubs in DSTV Premiership included into four select squads, like the NBA All-Star Game.

Keba Mothoagae photo
Keba Mothoagae
Editor- Local Desk
DSTV DiskiDStv PremiershipSouth Africa