India vs Australia 2023 Cricket World Cup Final Preview: Schedule, Venue, Head to Head, Form Guide

India vs Australia 2023 Cricket World Cup Final Preview: Schedule, Venue, Head to Head, Form Guide

Joel Reyes
updated at February 13, 2024 at 11:54 AM
  • India beat New Zealand in the semi-finals of the 2023 Cricket World Cup
  • Australia defeated South Africa in the tournament's second semi-final
  • This will be the second meeting between the two powerhouses in the final

India's quest to win their third Cricket World Cup crown is still very much alive after a convincing victory over New Zealand on Wednesday night.

Next up for the hosts is a blockbuster clash with five-time champions, Australia in Ahmedabad this coming Sunday.

Read on as Sports Brief brings you a preview of this epic final showdown.

India, Australia, 2023 Cricket World Cup, Virat Kohli, David Warner
India's Virat Kohli and Australia's David Warner. Images: INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/ PUNIT PARANJPE.
Source: Getty Images

India vs. Australia CWC Final Preview

The 48th and final match of the 2023 Cricket World Cup will take place on Sunday, November 19, at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The championship match starts at 2:00 pm local time.

The Indians head into the final with momentum on their side, having won all of their 10 games in the tournament thus far.

They are coming off an impressive 70-run victory over New Zealand in the semi-finals. Virat Kohli starred in that win, scoring 117 runs from 113 balls to nab his record-breaking 50th one-day international century, per the BBC.

Kohli has been in excellent form for India in this year's World Cup, leading the tournament in runs scored with 711.

He surpassed Sachin Tendulkar's record for most runs in a single World Cup campaign after posting his third century of this tournament.

India defeated Australia by six wickets the last time they faced each other in the group stage on October 8.

KL Rahul scored an unbeaten 97 for India, while Kohli racked up 85 runs for the hosts, who needed just 41.2 overs to chase their target.

Australia and India have squared off 13 times in the Cricket World Cup, with the Aussies winning eight of those meetings. India won their matchups in 1983, 1987, 2011, 2019, and 2023.

The Australians are coming off a nervy three-wicket win over South Africa in the semi-finals on Thursday night.

They bowled out South Africa for just 212. Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc took two wickets each to rip through the Proteas' top order.

Australia felt the pressure as they closed in on their target, though, collapsing from 130/3 to 193/7.

Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc helped the Wallabies reach their eighth Cricket World Cup final, with their eighth-wicket partnership yielding 22 runs.

Most Cricket World Cup wins

Sports Brief recently reported on the teams with the most Cricket World Cup titles.

Australia is quite far in the lead for the record for the most championships with five.

The mighty Wallabies claimed the CWC title in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015.

Joel Reyes photo
Joel Reyes
Joel Reyes is a sports editor at with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism from the University of the Philippines. He has eight years of work experience in sports writing.
Cricket World CupCricket South Africa (CSA)