CSA T20 Challenge Wrap: Warriors Upset Titans in Tense Classic, Western Province Swats Paarl Rocks Aside

CSA T20 Challenge Wrap: Warriors Upset Titans in Tense Classic, Western Province Swats Paarl Rocks Aside

Keba Mothoagae
updated at April 12, 2023 at 7:55 PM
  • The Cricket South Africa T20 Challenge made a welcome return with matters kicking off at the St. George's Park Stadium in Gqeberha
  • The opening round of fixtures saw Western Province take on their neighbours Paarl Rocks, while the home favourites the Warriors took on the Titans
  • This was the first instance that a limited crowd was allowed into a cricket venue since March 2020

The Cricket South Africa T20 Challenge returned to television screens in an explosive manner.

Pencilled in to take place in the bio-bubble of the St. George's Park Stadium in Gqeberha, Eastern, the opening fixtures were between the Six Gun Grill Western Province and the GBETS Rocks, and the Momentum Multiply Titans and the home side GBETS Warriors.

cricket south africa, csa t20 challenge, gbets rocks, gbets warriors, six gun grill western province, st george's park cricket ground, gqeberha, eastern cape
The CSA T20 Challenge is back, taking placing in a Covid-19 bio-bubble in Gqeberha. Image source: @OfficialCSA/Twitter
Source: Twitter

A small restricted crowd was allowed into the stadium, the first such instance since March 2020 when Australia toured the country.

The Warriors held on to defeat the star-studded Titans by eight runs. Having set the Tshwane-based side a target of 164 after finishing on 163-8 in their 20 overs, they restricted the visitors to 155-8.

Wihan Lubbe and Tristan Stubbs top scored for them with 56 and 51 runs respectively, with Lizaad Williams (2/29) and Corbin Bosch (2/36) the pick of the Titans' bowlers. Donavon Ferreira's 60 was all in vain when the latter came out to bat, as Gihahn Cloete (23) and Heinrich Klaasen (20) were the only batters to muster up 20 or more runs.

MOMENTUM MULTIPLY TITANS: Theunis De Bruyn (capt), Quinton De Kock (wk), Heinrich Klaasen, Sibonelo Makhanya, Donovan Ferriera, Aya Gqamane, Aaron Phangiso, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi, Corbin Bosch, Gihahn Cloete

GBETS WARRIORS: Sinethemba Qeshile (capt & wk), Matthew Breetzke, Diego Rosier, Wihan Lubbe, Lesiba Ngoepe, Jon Jon Smuts, Tristan Stubbs, Mthiwekhaya Nabe, Tsepo, Ndwandwa, Tiaan Van Vuuren, Dane Patterson

Earlier in the opening match of the tournament, Western Province barely broke a sweat in beating their neighbours Paarl Rocks by six wickets.

The Rocks could only muster up 142-6, propelled to inadequate score by Christiaan Jonker (46), Ferisco Adams (34) and Janneman Malan (29). George Linde (2/11) and Beuran Hendricks (2-28) choked the innings before it got anywhere.

Richard Levi rifled Province home with a fiery 67, ably assisted by Aviwe Mgijima (26), Dane Vilas (21) and Linde (20).

SIX GUN GRILL WESTERN PROVINCE: Jonathan Bird, Junaid Dawood, Beuran Hendricks, Gavin Kaplan, George Linde, Richard Levi, Aviwe Mgijima, Tshepo Moreki, Mihlali Mpongwana, Wayne Parnell, Dane Vilas

GBETS ROCKS: Pieter Malan, Janneman Malan, Cebo Tshiki, Clyde Fortuin, Christiaan Jonker, Ferisco Adams, Hardus Viljoen, Ziyaad Abrahams, Siyabonga Mahima, Hlomla Hanabe, Imraan Manack

Keba Mothoagae photo
Keba Mothoagae
Editor- Local Desk
South AfricaT20TitansWestern Province