Africa’s Fastest Man Ferdinand Omanyala Sends Special Message to Retired President Uhuru Kenyatta

Africa’s Fastest Man Ferdinand Omanyala Sends Special Message to Retired President Uhuru Kenyatta

Martin Moses
updated at April 12, 2023 at 8:11 PM
  • 100 metres Commonwealth champion Ferdinand Omanyala has sent his regards to Uhuru Kenyatta as he begins his retirement
  • President Kenyatta exited office as Kenya's fourth President paving way for a new administration under William Ruto
  • Kenyatta was present when Omanyala beat a star-studded field at the Kipkeino classic at the Kasarani stadium in May 2022

Africa's fastest man and record holder, Ferdinand Omanyala, has taken time to send a heartfelt message to Uhuru Kenyatta, who is now the former President of the Republic of Kenya.

Kenyatta handed over the country's leadership to his former deputy William Ruto in a colourful ceremony at the Moi International Sports Centre Kasarani.

Even as the inauguration ceremony went on, Omanyala reflected on his encounters with Kenyatta, thanking the fourth President of Kenya for always attending his races.

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ find "Recommended for you" block and enjoy!

Happy retirement.....hope u will not stop coming to watch my races. Thank you for your service.

President Uhuru Kenyatta made it a habit to attend Omanyala's races. More recently, he was at the Kip Keino classic when Omanyala, supported by an exuberant home crowd, beat Fred Kerley, then the Olympic silver medalist, at Kasarani stadium. Kerley has since become a world champion.

It is during Kenyatta's second term in office that Omanyala rose to prominence. The 26-year-old is now the fastest man on the continent, with a time of 9.77 seconds. He is also the African champion and Commonwealth champion, having dethroned Akani Simbinie of South Africa both times.

Martin Moses photo
Martin Moses
Martin Moses is a sports journalist with over five years of experience in media. He graduated from Multimedia University of Kenya (Bachelor of Journalism, 2017-2021)