Bryan Habana Announced as One of Five New Inductees Into the World Rugby Hall of Fame

Bryan Habana Announced as One of Five New Inductees Into the World Rugby Hall of Fame

Jarryd Westerdale
updated at October 10, 2023 at 3:57 PM
  • Bryan Habana is the Springbok record try scorer with 67 tries in 124 tests
  • He was the star of South Africa’s Rugby World Cup winning team of 2007
  • A gala event will be held to honour the latest Rugby Hall of Fame inductees

Bryan Habana will take his place among rugby royalty come the end of the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

The legendary winger has been named as one of the fresh inductees to the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

Habana scored a Springbok record of 67 tries in 124 test matches, including a tournament-high eight tries on the way to helping his nation win the World Cup in 2007.

Bryan Habana, Springboks, Hall of Fame 2023.
Former Springbok Bryan Habana working as a TV pundit for Amazon Prime in 2022. Photo by Craig Mercer/MB Media.
Source: Getty Images

Among the four other inductees is All Black flyhalf and current all-time record test points scorer, Daniel Carter.

The remaining names on the list are Australia’s George Smith, France’s Thierry Dusautoir, and Argentina’s Juan Martin Hernandez.

SA Rugby released a statement detailing the comments of World Rugby Chairman, Sir Bill Beaumont - himself a Hall of Fame inductee:

"Each have played a huge role in making the sport what it is today, exciting and inspiring in equal measure, while always being superb ambassadors for their sport.
"Their impact was greater than the field of play, it transcended sport and society, taking rugby to another level."

Chairman of the Hall of Fame panel, John Eales - another Hall of Fame inductee - was quoted by World Rugby as saying:

"Today, we induct a series of rugby players into the World Rugby Hall of Fame who have each thrived on the world stage."

Habana’s efforts at the 2007 Rugby World Cup earned him the World Rugby Player of the Year award for that year.

As well as the eight tries in 2007, he scored two in 2011 and five more in 2015 to go joint-top of the all-time try-scorers charts, tied with the late New Zealand legend, Jonah Lomu.

South Africa search for triumphant repeat

Sports Brief has also reported on the Springboks breaking records with their win at the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

SA scored four tries in 12 minutes against Romania to become the quickest team to a try-scoring bonus point.

The Springboks are looking to defend their title in France and play the hosts this Sunday in the quarter-finals.

Jarryd Westerdale photo
Jarryd Westerdale
Jarryd Westerdale (based in Johannesburg) joined Sports Brief after four years in the community journalism sphere. He is a two-time Alet Roux Award winner and was a finalist in multiple categories at the Forum of Community Journalism Excellence Awards.
South AfricaRugby World Cup