2022 COSAFA Cup Teams and Fixtures Revealed as Annual Tournament Takes Place in Durban

2022 COSAFA Cup Teams and Fixtures Revealed as Annual Tournament Takes Place in Durban

  • The city of Durban in KwaZulu-Natal is gearing up for what should be another exciting edition of the COSAFA Cup
  • This will be the 18th time the tournament is held since the first event all the way back in 1997 when Zimbabwe won it
  • It will be the second time that South Africa hosts the event, with last year's competition hosted in Gqeberha where Bafana Bafana won it

Seychelles and Botswana will have the honour of kicking off the 2022 COSAFA Cup when they clash in a Group A encounter at the King Zwelithini Stadium in Durban on July 5.

This match will be the start of 23 games taking place over 13 days as the best of the southern African region, joined by guest west African nation Senegal, gather to contest the coveted regional trophy.

cosafa cup, south africa, senegal, durban, kwazulu natal, gqeberha, defending champions, zimbabwe
South Africa will look to defend its COSAFA Cup title next month in Durban next month.
Source: UGC

Hosts South Africa are the defending champions, having won the trophy in a home tournament last year in Gqeberha, as reported by SuperSport.

Read also

WAFU B U17: Golden Eaglets defeat Ivory Coast, to face very dangerous team in final

Angola will take in Comoros later that day in the other match in the pool, while the Group B action starts the next day, 6 July, when Mauritius tackles Eswatini at the same venue. Lesotho will square off after this encounter.

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ find "Recommended for you" block and enjoy!

The first four days of action will be held at the King Zwelithini Stadium, with the final round of pool games, which will be played concurrently, unfolding at Princess Magogo Stadium. These group matches are so that the two group winners can qualify for the quarterfinals, where the highest-ranked six teams have been seeded.

The four quarterfinals will all be played at the latter venue, with Madagascar to take on 2015 winners Namibia on July 12, and Zambia to play the winner of Group A later that same evening. July 13 will see Senegal take on the winner of Group B, and hosts and holders South Africa meet Mozambique, the team they beat in the semifinals last year.

Read also

Banyana Banyana could pocket R9.2 million from South African Football Association for winning AWCON tournament

The four losers from those quarterfinals will drop into the plate semifinals that will be played on July 15, with the winners heading into the cup semifinals on the same day. The latter matches will be at the iconic Moses Mabhida Stadium.

The victor in the Madagascar/Namibia quarterfinal will take on the winner of the match between South Africa and Mozambique in the semifinals, while the successful teams from the other two quarters will clash.

The final day of the tournament on July 17 will be a busy one with the plate final, third-place play-off and cup final all to be staged. These will also take place at the Moses Mabhida Stadium.

See the full fixture list here.

Hugo Broos to finally meet with Premier Soccer League coaches to improve standard of football in South Africa

Hugo Broos is committed to improving the standard of football in the country and plans to meet the local coaches to do so.

Read also

Mamelodi Sundowns chairperson Thlopie Motsepe states that the club is the most successful team of the PSL era

As reported by Sports Brief, Broos intends to meet with the Premier Soccer League (PSL) coaches this year as he hopes to get them on board with his plans for the sport in the country.

Broos has been critical recently about the quality of players in the country and the level of the PSL, comments which didn’t sit well with many.

Source: SportsBrief.com