Khabib Nurmagomedov names 2 superstars who deserved to win 2021 Ballon d’Or more than Messi

Khabib Nurmagomedov names 2 superstars who deserved to win 2021 Ballon d’Or more than Messi, Lukman Mumuni
updated at April 12, 2023 at 7:51 PM
In this article:
Lionel Messi logo
Inter Miami CF logoFArgentina logo
  • Khabib Nurmagomedov has explained that Lionel Messi should not have won the 2021 Ballon d'Or award
  • The former UFC star claimed that Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski did more than the PSG forward
  • Lionel Messi has now won seven Ballon d'Or awards in his career with only Ronaldo close with five

Khabib Nurmagomedov has stated emphatically that Lionel Messi does not deserve to win the 2021 Ballon d'Or award claiming that the organizers should have given it to Robert Lewandowski or Karim Benzema.

Lionel Messi in Paris recently won his 7th Ballon d'Or award beating Lewandowski, Jorginho, and Karim Benzema after receiving the highest number of votes.

Football fans around the world expressed their anger over how Lionel Messi won the award as they thought it should have gone to Robert Lewandowski.

Khabib Nurmagomedov
Former UFC star Khabib Nurmagomedov in action. Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC
Source: Getty Images

And according to the report on Sportsbible, former UFC star Khabib Nurmagomedov claimed that Robert Lewandowski did well to have won the award.

Khabib Nurmagomedov's reaction on the Ballon d'Or

"I would give it to Lewandowski or Benzema. One of them. Lewandowski. I think. Last three years, he is the best football player.
"He has 65 goals this year. It is too much. For football I think it is too much. I think he deserves Ballon d'Or."

Messi, Jorginho ignored as sensational striker wins 2021 Golden Player of the Year award

Earlier, had reported how the 2021 Golden Player of the Year Award has been presented to Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski.

Tuttosport issued the award to the Polish striker as the best player over the age of 21 in the last calendar year.

Complete Sports are reporting that the former Borussia Dortmund striker also received the accolade last year as well.

He beat former Barcelona captain and Argentina legend Lionel Messi as well as Italian midfielder Jorginho to the award.

It was gathered that Lewandowski was chosen by a jury of former stars including Lothar Matthäus, Andriy Shevchenko, Hristo Stoichkov, Luca Toni, Samuel Eto’o and Rui Costa.

Authors photo
Lukman Mumuni photo
Lukman Mumuni
Lukman Abdul Mumin is a Sports Journalist based in Accra, Ghana. He has been writing for the past five years. Lukman joined Sports Brief as an Editor for the Local Desk in 2022.