Man United Legend Becomes the 4th Ex-footballer to Be Inducted Into the Premier League Hall of Fame

Man United Legend Becomes the 4th Ex-footballer to Be Inducted Into the Premier League Hall of Fame

Oluwatomiwa Babalola
updated at April 12, 2023 at 7:42 PM

- Roy Keane joins Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, and Eric Cantona in the list of Premier League Hall of Famers

- The Red Devils legend won several trophies during his reign at Old Trafford under Alex Ferguson

- Keane felt highly celebrated being named into a group of legendary players who gave their best to the development of the league

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Manchester United legend is the latest former football star to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The fearsome retired-midfielder spent 12 seasons at Old Trafford - winning seven EPL titles, one Champions League and a number of other domestic silverware.

During his reign at the club, he rose to become the Red Devils captain under Sir Alex Ferguson and they both achieved greatness.

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

He has now joined the likes of Alan Shearer, Arsenal legend Thierry Henry and Eric Cantona who were earlier inducted into the Hall of Fame. Keane while reacting to the news said according to The Mirror:

Man Utd icon Roy Keane becomes fourth member of Premier League Hall of Fame
Roy Keane watching the Premier League match between Burnley and Manchester United at Turf Moor in 2019. Photo by Chris Brunskill/Fantasista
Source: Getty Images
"I feel very lucky to be inducted but I’ve only been inducted because of the players I’ve played with."

Meanwhile the 23-man shortlist was voted for by the public, hence, the quality of players on the list but United great Cantona said he wasn't shocked to be named earlier on Tuesday.

"I am very happy and very proud and at the same time, I am not surprised!. Of course, to play in England was a dream. It is a dream of everybody to play in the Premier League.
"I have been lucky to play in this [Manchester United ] team with wonderful players, a wonderful manager and wonderful fans."

The new inductees will be named at 9 am and 1 pm on Wednesday and Thursday.

The 23-man shortlist for the next set of six Hall of Fame inductees:

Tony Adams, David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Sol Campbell, Eric Cantona , Andrew Cole, Ashley Cole, Didier Drogba, Les Ferdinand, Rio Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Matt Le Tissier, Michael Owen, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, John Terry, Robin van Persie, Nemanja Vidic, Patrick Viera, Ian Wright. earlier reported that Roy Keane has omitted Cristiano Ronaldo among the five world-class players he played along with at Manchester United.

The 49-year-old former midfielder spent 12 years at Old Trafford - winning seven Premier Leagues, and one Champions League titles among several other domestic silverware.

Recently, the Irishman said he played along with just five world-class players at the club but insisted that Cristiano Ronaldo was not among.

Oluwatomiwa Babalola photo
Oluwatomiwa Babalola