5 Players Who Have Won 6 Champions League Trophies After Real Madrid Beat Dortmund

5 Players Who Have Won 6 Champions League Trophies After Real Madrid Beat Dortmund

Elijah Odetokun
updated at June 2, 2024 at 12:04 AM
In this article:
Toni Kroos logo
T. Kroos
-MGermany logo
Luka Modrić logo
L. Modrić
Real Madrid logoMCroatia logo
Daniel Carvajal logo
D. Carvajal
Real Madrid logoDSpain logo
Nacho Fernández logo
N. Fernández
Al-Qadisiya logoDSpain logo
Real Madrid logo
Real Madrid
UEFA Champions League logo
  • Real Madrid beat Borussia Dortmund 2-0 at the Wembley Stadium
  • The Spanish club have won the UEFA Champions League 15 times
  • Five players in their current winning squad won their sixth trophy

PAY ATTENTION: Checkout Fixtures; Live Scores; Results and Tables section on Sports Brief and never miss out on the action ⚽️

Real Madrid scored twice in 90 minutes to win the 2023/24 UEFA Champions League trophy at the Wembley Stadium, beating Borussia Dortmund.

It was the 15th title for the Spanish club, a record-extending figure. Five players from their winning squad, including the retiring Toni Kroos, have won it six times each.

Vinicius Jr, Toni Kroos, Real Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, UEFA Champions League final, Wembley, London, England.
Luka Modric points to the Real Madrid badge after he was substituted in the UCL final as Vinicius Jr watches on. Photo by Robert Michael.
Source: Getty Images

Sports Brief looks at the four players with six UCL trophies.

Players with 6 Champions League trophies

1. Toni Kroos

The German midfielder announced that the UCL final would be his last club game, as he will retire after Euro 2024 on home soil. He has picked up six winners' medals in the Champions League, the first with Bayern Munich in 2013, and five times with Madrid, including the three peat from 2016 to 2018.

2. Luka Modric

The Croatian midfield maestro was voted La Liga’s number-one flop in his first season. He has gone on to defy the odds and is a six-time Champions League winner. He won the Ballon d'Or in 2018 after his exploits in winning the third consecutive trophy and his Player of the Tournament outing at the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

3. Dani Carvajal

The Spanish full-back won all six trophies at the Spanish capital, including La Decima under Carlo Ancelotti in 2014. He is one of the club's most successful players and scored the opener in his sixth final against Dortmund.

4. Nacho

The 34-year-old defender is currently Madrid's longest-serving player. He is the current captain and will leave the club when his contract expires this summer. Surprisingly, he has six winners’ medals, most of which come from sitting on the bench.

5. Paco Gento

The only other player to win Europe's most prestigious club competition six times was Paco Gento, who won it during the European Cup era as a Real Madrid player. Five of his trophies came in consecutive years between 1955 to 1960.

Elijah Odetokun photo
Elijah Odetokun
Elijah Odetokun is Reuters-trained journalist with three years of experience having previously worked at Daily Times Nigeria, OmaSports and El Futbolero.