Who Won Women’s African Games Football Gold Medals Since First Tournament in 2003?

Who Won Women’s African Games Football Gold Medals Since First Tournament in 2003?

Jarryd Westerdale
updated at March 19, 2024 at 4:47 PM
In this article:
Nigeria Women logo
Ghana (w) logo
CAF African Games logo
CAF African Games
CAF Women's African Games logo
CAF Women's African Games
  • Football at the African Games was first introduced in the 2003 edition
  • Only three nations have earned the gold medal from the five finals played
  • Holders Nigeria will play hosts Ghana in a blockbuster final on Friday night

A battle of two former gold medalists awaits in Accra.

The sixth football gold medal will be given to either Nigeria or Ghana, ensuring that West Africa continues its vice grip on success at the competition.

Sports Brief looks at the previous five finals and the teams who have added to their nation's African Games legacy.

Nigeria, women's football, All Africa Games, 2003, The Falconetes.
Nigeria won the inaugural women's football tournament at the 2003 All-Africa Games in Abuja. Photo: Pius Utomi Ekpei.
Source: Getty Images

Previous women's football gold medalists

2003: Nigeria

The inaugural women's tournament featured eight U23 teams in two groups of four, with Nigeria and Cameroon progressing from Group A, alongside South Africa and Mali from Group B.

Nigeria went into the semi-final having scored 13 goals and conceded none. Mali did get one over the line in the semi, but Nigeria scored three en route to beating South Africa 1-0 in the first-ever women's goal medal match.

2007: Nigeria

This edition featured six teams and South Africa only qualified after regional qualifiers Mozambique withdrew

In a repeat of the gold match four years prior, the Falconetes reasserted their dominance on the African continent. As per Nairaland, Nigeria and South Africa played to a 2-2 draw in the opening game of their group, but Nigeria saved the best for their 4-0 win in the final.

2011: Cameroon

Reduced to seven teams after Guinea withdrew at late notice, Cameroon broke Nigeria's grip on the gold medal. Nigeria were absent from this edition after losing to Ghana in qualifying.

The Indomitable Lionesses defeated Ghana 1-0 in the final, capping off a competition that saw their defence unbreached as they also kept clean sheets against Algeria, Mozambique and South Africa.

2015: Ghana

Again played with seven after Egypt withdrew at short notice, this competition would see a return to Brazzaville for the African Games' 40th anniversary.

This would also be the first appearance of Ivory Coast, who would win their three group games. They would be beaten by Ghana in the semi-final to set up a repeat of the previous edition's final, but this time, Ghana would reverse the result.

2019: Nigeria

After coming through the same three-team group - Zambia being the late withdrawal this time - Nigeria and Cameroon advanced to the final.

No women's gold medal match has seen both teams score and in 2019, neither team would. The pair played to a 1-1 in the group stage and seemed determined not to give an inch. Ultimately, Nigeria would win 3-2 on penalties

The Faclonetes will look to go back-to-back for the second time and claim their third gold medal in six editions.

List of men's football gold medalists

Sports Brief recently compiled a list of the African Games gold medal winners dating back to 1965.

There have been nine different winners of the previous 12 editions with one nation winning four times.

Of the four semi-finalists for the 13th African Games, three of them have achieved the gold medal before.

Jarryd Westerdale photo
Jarryd Westerdale
Jarryd Westerdale (based in Johannesburg) joined Sports Brief after four years in the community journalism sphere. He is a two-time Alet Roux Award winner and was a finalist in multiple categories at the Forum of Community Journalism Excellence Awards.