Haaland, Jesus and Other Current Premier League Stars Who Have Never Lost When They Scored

Haaland, Jesus and Other Current Premier League Stars Who Have Never Lost When They Scored

Elijah Odetokun
February 26, 2024 at 3:53 PM
In this article:
Gabriel Jesus logo
Arsenal logoFBrazil logo
Gabriel Martinelli logo
G. Martinelli
Arsenal logoFBrazil logo
Erling Braut Haaland logo
Manchester City logoFNorway logo
James Milner logo
J. Milner
Brighton Hove Albion logoMEngland logo
Diogo Jota logo
D. Jota
Liverpool logoFPortugal logo
Séamus Coleman logo
S. Coleman
Everton logoDIreland logo
English Premier League logo
ENG Premier League
  • Arsenal striker Gabriel Jesus is the luckiest player in the Premier League
  • The Brazilian is yet to lose a league game in which he has scored a goal
  • Five other current stars in the English top flight have some bit of luck

Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola believes in the philosophy that the best way to defend is to attack the opponent, and in doing so, you score enough goals to win games.

Luck is part of what plays to your advantage in football, and some current Premier League stars are lucky charms for their teams as they have never lost when they get on the scoresheet.

Gabriel Jesus, Arsenal, Nottingham Forest, Premier League.
Gabriel Jesus celebrated after scoring for Arsenal against Nottingham Forest. Photo by Robbie Jay Barratt.
Source: Getty Images

Sports Brief looks at six Premier League players who have yet to lose a game they have scored as first analysed by Opta Analyst.

Premier League’s luckiest players

1. Gabriel Jesus

Per 90min, the Brazilian has the longest streak of most league games scored without losing. Jesus has been in the English top flight since 2017 and has scored 73 times for Man City and Arsenal, and in the 60 games those goals have come in, he has never lost. He has won 55 and drew five. The former Palmeiras star has four title medals.

2. James Milner

The veteran made his Premier League debut for Leeds United in 2002. His first goal came a month later in the 2-1 win over Sunderland. Since then, he has played and scored for Newcastle United, Aston Villa, Manchester City and Liverpool in 54 games and never lost, winning 43 and drawing 11. He currently plays for Brighton.

3. Diogo Jota

The versatile Portuguese attacker has scored in 45 Premier League games between Wolverhampton Wanderers (12) and Liverpool (33) and has never been on the losing side. He has won 38 and drawn seven.

4. Erling Haaland

The Norwegian forward joined Manchester City last season and helped the club to a historic treble. He won the Golden Boot last season in record fashion with 36 goals. He is yet to taste defeat after scoring in 34 games. He has won 29 and drew five.

5. Gabriel Martinelli

Per Sports Illustrated, the Arsenal star tied Roberto Firmino for most goals in a season by a Brazilian in England last year with 15 goals. He has found the bank of the net for the Gunners in 28 games, won 24 and drew 4.

6. Seamus Coleman

The Irish full-back has been at Everton since 2009. He has played over 300 league games. He has scored in 22, and in those games, he has never conceded defeat, winning 17 and drawing five.

PL players with most red cards

Sports Brief reported on the Premier League players with most red cards, with Arsenal legend Patrick Vieira being the dirtiest as he was given marching orders eight times.

Duncan Ferguson and Richard Dunne are the other unlucky legs to receive eight red cards, while Manchester United legend and pundit Roy Keane received seven.

Elijah Odetokun photo
Elijah Odetokun
Elijah Odetokun is Reuters-trained journalist with three years of experience having previously worked at Daily Times Nigeria, OmaSports and El Futbolero.