Kane, Gerrard Among 6 best footballers to have never won a league title

Kane, Gerrard Among 6 best footballers to have never won a league title

Isaac Darko
February 22, 2024 at 8:21 PM
In this article:
Harry Kane logo
Bayern Munich logoFEngland logo
S. Gerrard
-MEngland logo
Antoine Griezmann logo
Atletico Madrid logoFFrance logo
  • Some of the most outstanding players in history have failed to secure a league title
  • Stars like Harry Kane and Antoine Griezmann are yet to win a trophy despite their talent
  • Here are six exceptional players who, despite their remarkable talents, have never lifted a league title

In the contemporary era of football, the pursuit of glory often overshadows loyalty among players, with only a select few demonstrating unwavering allegiance.

Nevertheless, throughout the years, there have been a handful of players who have remained steadfast or have simply never been part of a club capable of securing a league title.

This article is prompted by the recent transfer of England captain Harry Kane to Bayern Munich in his quest for his maiden league championship.

However, his team's lagging position behind Bayer Leverkusen in the Bundesliga title race jeopardizes this aspiration.

Sports Brief has compiled a list of six exceptional players who, despite their remarkable talents, have never lifted a league title.

Best footballers to have never won a league title

Harry Kane

Harry Kane finds himself at the brunt of ongoing mockery in today's football landscape. Despite being hailed as one of the premier strikers globally, Kane's illustrious career is marred by the absence of any major trophies.

He came close to clinching the Premier League title twice during his tenure at Tottenham. In the 2015/2016 season, Tottenham faltered in the final stretch, allowing surprise champions Leicester City to win the title.

The following year, despite their stellar performance, they were narrowly edged out by Chelsea under the guidance of seasoned winner Antonio Conte.

These instances underscore Kane's unfortunate luck, prompting his decision to seek greener pastures with Bayern Munich in the summer of 2023 in pursuit of silverware.

However, as the 2023/2024 season unfolds, it appears Kane may once again face disappointment, fueling speculation that perhaps he is indeed cursed.

Steven Gerrard

Steven Gerrard is widely regarded as one of the greatest midfielders in the history of football; however, he is perennially haunted by one particular shortcoming - his inability to secure a league title throughout his illustrious career.

His most infamous setback occurred during the closing stages of the 2013/2014 season when Gerrard's slip against Chelsea at home allowed Demba Ba to capitalise, ultimately leading to a crucial goal and victory for the Blues. This pivotal moment contributed to Liverpool's subsequent collapse in the following game, resulting in a second-place finish.

Gerrard experienced the disappointment of finishing as runner-up during the 2008/2009 and 2001/2002 seasons, further cementing his association with near misses. Despite his triumphs in the Champions League and numerous other competitions, Liverpool's revered captain consistently faltered at the final hurdle in the Premier League.

Antoine Griezmann

Antoine Griezmann has emerged as one of the most captivating players of the modern era, mesmerizing spectators with his effortless navigation past defenders.

Nevertheless, he has yet to claim a league title to his name. Surprisingly, Griezmann has been part of Atletico Madrid's championship-winning squad twice, but La Liga has eluded him during his tenure there.

Despite his stint at Barcelona where he came close to clinching the title on two occasions, with point tallies of 73 and 82, respectively, it proved insufficient to surpass their rivals. As Griezmann continues to refine his skills despite advancing in age, the question lingers whether he will ever hoist the La Liga trophy.


What prevented Socrates from securing a trophy throughout his career? Widely regarded as one of Brazil's most illustrious players, Socrates showcased his talents in 60 appearances spanning seven years, finding the net 22 times.

According to CNN, He was a stalwart presence in two World Cups, even shouldering the captain's responsibility in 1982.

Despite his significant impact and accomplishments such as clinching a couple of regional titles with Botafogo, Corinthians, and Flamengo in his homeland, Socrates found himself unable to raise a trophy during his illustrious career.

Gary Lineker

Whenever Gary Lineker and Alan Shearer appear on TV together, Lineker enjoys teasing Shearer about their trophy hauls during their playing days.

While Shearer missed out on claiming the FA Cup, Lineker, on the other hand, never managed to secure a league title. Lineker departed his childhood club Leicester City with the aim of winning trophies at Everton, but he narrowly missed out on this goal.

In the 1985/1986 season, Everton finished as runners-up with 86 points, falling just two points short of bitter rivals Liverpool. Despite subsequent moves to Barcelona and later Tottenham, Lineker, despite his status as one of the greatest goalscorers in history, never managed to lift a league title.

Isaac Darko photo
Isaac Darko
Isaac Darko is a La Liga, Ligue 1 and Bundesliga editor at Sports Brief with a Degree in Journalism and Communications from Ghana Institute of Journalism (2010)