2023 Ballon d'Or: Full List of The Top 30 Players as Lionel Messi Wins Eighth Award

2023 Ballon d'Or: Full List of The Top 30 Players as Lionel Messi Wins Eighth Award

Isaac Darko
updated at February 13, 2024 at 11:54 AM
In this article:
Lionel Messi logo
Inter Miami CF logoFArgentina logo
Kylian Mbappé logo
Real Madrid logoFFrance logo
Jude Bellingham logo
Real Madrid logoMEngland logo
  • Lionel Messi secured his eighth Ballon d'Or, further extending his record
  • The Argentine fended off challenges from Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappe
  • Here's a list of the full men's results and the top 30 players of 2023

Lionel Messi claimed his eighth Ballon d'Or award in a glamorous ceremony in Paris on Monday.

While the majority agreed with his well-deserved victory, there were some controversial rankings within the top 30.

Lionel Messsi, Ballon d'Or
Lionel Messi won his 8th Ballon d'Or award. Photo by Franck Fife
Source: Getty Images

Messi was the clear frontrunner for the prestigious accolade, especially after leading Argentina to a memorable World Cup triumph in Qatar last December, as reported by Diario AS.

Nonetheless, the men's football landscape featured several exceptional nominees, with Manchester City's goal-scoring sensation Erling Haaland and the French prodigy, Kylian Mbappe of Paris Saint-Germain, closely chasing Messi's footsteps.

2023 Ballon d'Or rankings

The rankings in the top 30 were determined by votes from a panel of 100 journalists representing the countries in FIFA's top 100 rankings.

Each journalist selected their top five players, and points were allocated based on the positions they assigned. The final results were then calculated and announced by the presenter, Didier Drogba.

2023 Ballon d'Or, Lionel Messi, Josko Gvardiol, Erling Haaland, Jude Bellingham
Josko Gvardiol, Erling Haaland, and Jude Bellingham all featured within the top 30 rankings. Photo by Pascal Le Segretain
Source: Getty Images

The final top 30 is always bound to spark some debate among fans, with the current form of players sometimes making their rankings seem odd.

Meanwhile, many players, like Karim Benzema, Harry Kane, and Andre Onana, have moved clubs over the summer, SPORT reports.

Surprisingly, in-form stars Jude Bellingham and Bukayo Saka are all behind Emiliano Martinez, who was impressive in Argentina’s victorious World Cup campaign but has been less so when playing for his club side, Aston Villa.

There is plenty to debate – which you can do in the comments section – but here are the top 30 from this year’s Ballon d’Or award.

Name of player


1. Lionel Messi

Inter Miami

2. Erling Haaland

Manchester City

3. Kylian Mbappe

Paris Saint-Germain

4. Kevin De Bruyne

Manchester City

5. Rodri

Manchester City

6. Vinicius Junior

Real Madrid

7. Julian Alvarez

Manchester City

8. Victor Osimhen


9. Bernardo Silva

Manchester City

10. Luka Modric

Real Madrid

11. Mohamed Salah


12. Robert Lewandowski


13. Yassine Bounou


14. Ilkay Gundogan


15. Emiliano Martinez

Aston Villa

16. Karim Benzema


17. Khvicha Kvaratskhelia


18. Jude Bellingham

Real Madrid

19. Harry Kane

Bayern Munich

20. Lautaro Martinez

Inter Milan

21. Antoinne Griezmann

Atletico Madrid

22. Kim Min-jae

Bayern Munich

23. Andre Onana

Manchester United

24. Bukayo Saka


25. Josko Gvardiol

Manchester City

26. Jamal Musiala

Bayern Munich

27. Nicolo Barella

Inter Milan

28. Martin Odegaard


28. Randal Kolo Muani

Paris Saint-Germain

30. Ruben Diaz

Manchester City

5 reasons Messi beat Haaland

Sports Brief reported on 5 reasons why Messi beat Haaland to the Ballon d'Or after the Inter Miami captain was officially confirmed as the winner at the gala in Paris, France.

The former Barcelona captain won the only trophy that had been eluding his career, the FIFA World Cup, and was Argentina's main man, turning up in the big games, amongst other reasons.

Isaac Darko photo
Isaac Darko
Isaac Darko is a La Liga, Ligue 1 and Bundesliga editor at Sports Brief with a Degree in Journalism and Communications from Ghana Institute of Journalism (2010)