Ferguson and Wenger Share Secrets to Success After Premier League Hall of Fame Induction

Ferguson and Wenger Share Secrets to Success After Premier League Hall of Fame Induction

Elijah Odetokun
updated at April 12, 2023 at 8:29 PM
In this article:
English Premier League logo
ENG Premier League
  • The Premier League began its Hall of Fame in 2021 to recognise individuals with significant contributions
  • Alan Shearer and Roy Keane were the first two inductees in 2020 with other legendary players joining
  • Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger are the first two managers to be inducted

Former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson and legendary Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger have been inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The two are the first managers to be inducted since it began in 2021. Alan Shearer and the most successful captain Roy Keane were the first two inductees.

Sir Alex Ferguson, Arsene Wenger, Manchester United, Arsenal, Premier League.
Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger are the first managers to be inducted into Premier League Hall of Fame. Photos from @Arsenal/@ManUtd.
Source: Twitter

According to the Premier League official website, the two managers are worthy frontrunners for the award, having managed for extended periods and won multiple titles. The two legendary managers shared the secret to their successes in the English top-flight division.

Sir Alex Ferguson

The Scottish manager oversaw Manchester United from 1986 before retiring in 2013. He won a record 13 league titles, including three consecutive titles twice.

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ click on "Recommended for you" and enjoy!

Speaking in an interview after receiving the award, he said his target was always to win, and he never dropped these standards.

“I could lose my temper if we’d lose a game. You know why? They [the players] forgot the expectation. They forgot the very thing we worked every day for. When they didn’t reach that expectation, yeah, they got it. Your challenge for the league every year is your job. Putting that jersey on as a Man Utd player, that expectation is to win,” he said.

Arsene Wenger

The French boss was in charge of Arsenal for 22 years, a record. He won three league titles, including the 2003-04 season, where he guided his team to an unbeaten run, famously dubbed the Invincibles.

Speaking in an interview after his induction, Le Professor said winning was not enough, and he always strived for perfection during his days in the Emirates dugout.

“Winning is not enough. The obligation of perfection is the most important for me. [I said to the players] ‘Do you want to become immortal now or not?’ When I look back at it today and how the whole season went, I really feel I was crazy. Your craziness can kill you, and as well your craziness can make you achieve remarkable things,” he said.

Wenger sends message to Arsenal

The last league titles to be won by both Arsenal and Manchester United were in the era of Wenger and Ferguson. Gunners are top of the table, eight points clear of City and could win their first since 2004.

The FIFA's global football director sent a message to Arsenal telling Mikel Arteta's team, as Sports Brief reported, that their best chance of winning the title is now and may not have the opportunity again if they fail.

Elijah Odetokun photo
Elijah Odetokun
Elijah Odetokun is Reuters-trained journalist with three years of experience having previously worked at Daily Times Nigeria, OmaSports and El Futbolero.