Chelsea, Real Madrid, Barcelona Among 12 European Super League Clubs To Quit UEFA and ECA Roles

Chelsea, Real Madrid, Barcelona Among 12 European Super League Clubs To Quit UEFA and ECA Roles

Babajide Orevba
updated at April 12, 2023 at 7:43 PM
In this article:
English Premier League logo
ENG Premier League

- European Super League has continued to generate comments in the football world

- 12 elite European clubs have announced a breakaway from UEFA and European Clubs Association

- They have all also resigned their positions in the associations according to latest reports

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Latest reports have it that all 12 football clubs who announced their breakaway competition have all left their positions at the UEFA and the European Clubs Association (ECA).

The clubs consist of Atletico Madrid, Inter Milan, Manchester City, Liverpool, Real Madrid, Chelsea, Barcelona, Manchester United, Juventus, Tottenham Hotspur, Arsenal and AC Milan.

Such idea has received widespread condemnation and UEFA has vowed to use "all measures" possible to stop the "cynical project".

It was gathered that Juventus chairman Andrea Agnelli has tendered his resignation as chairman of the European Club Association and the UEFA Executive Committee while Juventus became the first "Super League" club to leave the ECA.

Manchester United chief executive Ed Woodward has also left his role at UEFA as well, as the club no longer being a part of the ECA.

On Monday, April 19, the 12 clubs submitted a letter to UEFA and FIFA stating that legal action is already being undertaken to halt plans for the breakaway competition.

The clubs say that 15 founding clubs - the 12 who have reached the agreement plus three who they expect to join - will be joined by five other teams who qualify each season.

The European Super League is a new competition formed by a number of elite clubs from Europe in plans to breakaway.

The competition will have 20 teams competing, with matches to be played in midweek and an end of the season playoff to determine the winners.

Chelsea, Real Madrid, Barcelona Among 12 European Super League Clubs Which Quit UEFA and ECA Roles
Chelsea owner Abrahamovich. Photo: Clive Mason
Source: Getty Images

15 founding clubs cannot be relegated from the closed-door elite, with five more clubs entitled to qualify every season.

The 20 participating clubs will be split into two groups of 10 each, playing 18 matches in total in two-legged affairs.

Meanwhile, earlier reported that Tottenham sacked Jose Mourinho after an explosive morning where he refused to take the squad onto the training ground over the club's proposed European Super League admission.

It was gathered that Spurs have decided to dispense with Mourinho after just over a season and a half in charge.

They are in seventh position on the Premier League standings and at risk of missing out on a place in the top four.

Babajide Orevba photo
Babajide Orevba
Babajide Orevba is a CAF accredited Nigerian journalist and HOD of the Local Desk with over 10 years of experience in media landscape.He studied NCE Political Science/Social Studies, AOCOED.