Olympic Gold Medallist Tatjana Schoenmaker and Bok Captain Siya Kolisi Win Big at South African Sports Awards

Olympic Gold Medallist Tatjana Schoenmaker and Bok Captain Siya Kolisi Win Big at South African Sports Awards

  • The winners of various accolades were announced at the South African Sports Awards held in Durban last night
  • Hosted at the Durban International Convention Centre, the period from September 2019 to August 2021 was reviewed because of the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020
  • Olympic gold medal-winning swimmer Tatjana Schoenmaker and Springbok Rugby World Cup-winning captain Siya Kolisi were the big winners on the night

The South African Sports Awards were held in Durban last night at the International Convention Centre.

These were the first to be held in over two years, the last ones taking place in 2019. The delay was due to the disruption that the Covid-19 pandemic caused on the world sports calendar.

Rugby is the biggest winner at the 2022 South African Sports Awards
Tatjana Schoenmaker with Siya Kolisi, as well as Makazole Mapimpi and his Sharks and Springbok teammate. Image source: @TRSchoenmaker & @SportsArtCultur
Source: Twitter

The winners were not particularly surprising considering the monumental achievements by local athletes at home and on the world stage.

The full list of category award winners were:

Sport Administrator of the Year - Ndumiso Njabulo Nyawose

National Federation of the Year - South African Rugby Union

Indigenous Games Team of the Year - KZN

Recreation Body of the Year - Local Surf Lounge Academy

Photographer of the Year - Roger Sedres

Journalist of the Year - Timothy Molobi

Newcomer of the Year - Minè De Klerk

Team of the Year - Springboks

Sportsman of the Year with a Disability - Pieter du Preez

Volunteer of the Year - Owen Gabaotswe

Coach of the Year - Rassie Erasmus

Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability - Anrunè Liebenberg-Weyers

Sportswoman of the Year - Tatjana Schoenmaker

Sportsman of the Year - Makazole Mapimpi

People’s Choice Sports Star of the Year - Siya Kolisi

Sports Star of the Year - Tatjana Schoenmaker

Minister’s Excellence Awards - Akona Makalima, Xolile Letlaka, Batshobinke Sipuka, Michelle Joubert, Victor Manuel De Freitas Gomes

Steve Tshwete Lifetime Achievement Award - Ntambi Ravele, Lynette Ferreira, Patrick ‘Ace’ Ntsoelengoe, Dan Setsedi, Norman ‘Pangaman’ Sekapane

Shield Of Jove - Bianca Buitendag, Ntando Mahlangu, Tatjana Schoenmaker

Makazole Mapimpi, Siya Kolisi and Tatjana Schoenmaker lead the way in SA Sports Awards nominations

The nominees of the 2021 South African Sports Awards have been revealed, with a strong Springbok flavour.

As reported on Sports Brief, Springbok captain Siya Kolisi, his teammate Makazole Mapimpi, swimmer Tatjana Schoenmaker, motorcyclist Brad Binder, paralympian Ntando Mahlangu and surfer Bianca Buitendag are just some of the names in line for top honours.

The awards are across 16 categories, with the period under review being from 01 September 2019 until August 2021, factoring the upheaval of the Covid-19-affected 2020.

Source: SportsBrief.com