New Zealand Win Rugby Championship Title Despite South Africa Defeating Argentina in Durban

New Zealand Win Rugby Championship Title Despite South Africa Defeating Argentina in Durban

New Zealand are the winners of the 2022 Rugby Championships.

The All Blacks secured the title despite South Africa beating the Argentinians in Durban.

New Zealand, Rugby Championship, Title, Despite, South Africa, Defeating, Argentina, Durban, Sport, World, Rugby, Siya Kolisi
South Africa picked up a win against Argentina in their final game of the Rugby Championship but lost the title to New Zealand. Image: Phill Magakoe/ Gaspafotos
Source: Getty Images

The Springboks went into the final game against Los Pumas knowing they needed to secure a bonus point and beat Argentina by 39 points.

The Boks started the game on the front foot but much slower than they would have liked. Frans Steyn missed three crucial touch-finders, and Los Pumas often slowed down the ball. They were also guilty of giving away penalties and were reduced to 14 men twice.

The Boks finally got a try in the 19th minute when Jasper Wiese dotted down after controlling the ball from a driving mall. It was one of the easiest tries, and Steyn made the conversion look equally as easy.

Read also

Raspadori strike keeps Italy's Nations League hopes alive and send England down

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ find "Recommended for you" block and enjoy!

The Boks took a 14-0 lead when captain Siya Kolisi broke out of a maul and dived over the line.

Steyn then scored a monster penalty, kicking the ball over from his over half.

At 17-0, the Boks looked well on their way to securing the title, but the Argentinians had other plans.

Tomas Lavanini picked up the ball from the base of a ruck and dived over the line at the stroke of halftime. The try was converted, and the Boks only led 17-7 at halftime.

Los Pumas didn't waste much time in the second half to pile on more misery to the Boks as they grabbed another try seven minutes in.

Juan Martin Gonzalez tore down the touchline, leaving Willie le Roux in his wake, to score Argentina's second.

Read also

De Bruyne leads Belgium to victory over Wales

With another successful conversion, they closed the gap to 17-14. However, the Boks restored their ten-point lead 8 minutes later when another driving maul resulted in a penalty try.

The Argentinians were again reduced to 14 men, but so were the Boks not long after. Eben Etzebeth was shown a yellow after he was judged to have pushed an Argentinian player into a teammate, which resulted in a dangerous landing.

Faf de Klerk soon joined Etzebeth on the sidelines, and the Boks had to play against 15 men with just 13.

The mismatch in numbers saw them concede another try but it wasn't long before they grabbed another penalty try to stretch the lead to 31-21 with five minutes to play.

The Boks would grab the final points of the game as Kurt-Lee Arendse scored in the dying minutes as the Boks ran out 38-21 winners.

Springbok fans take out calculators to see how team can beat All Blacks to Rugby Championship title

Read also

Mbappe stars as France shrug off troubles to outclass Austria

Saturday promises to be one of the most dramatic days in the history of Test rugby history.

All four of New Zealand, South Africa, Australia and Argentina can win the Rugby Champions, Sports Brief earlier reported.

The permutations are enough to cause those partial and neutral headaches that will transfer onto the pitch, where the numbers will be at the front of the minds of the players.

Source: Sports Brief News