Stellenbosch FC Beats Chippa United to Qualify for DStv Diski Shield Final, Chase History

Stellenbosch FC Beats Chippa United to Qualify for DStv Diski Shield Final, Chase History

  • Stellenbosch United defeated Chippa United in the first semifinal to qualify for the 2022 DStv Diski Shield final
  • Marvin Boji's 70th-minute penalty proved to be the difference in the encounter
  • The Maroons are now 90 minutes away from becoming the first team to win both trophies

Stellenbosch FC are through to the 2022 DStv Diski Shield final after defeating Chippa United 1-0 in the semifinal match at the Giant Stadium in Soshanguve.

Marvin Boji scored the winning goal in the 70th minute from the penalty spot after United's Francis Kayden fouled Stellies' Shawn Isaacs inside the box. The Maroons will now await the winner of the fixture between Mamelodi Sundowns and Kaizer Chiefs in the other semifinal.

dstv diski shield, dstv diski challenge, semifinal, giant stadium, soshanguve, stellenbosch fc, chippa united, mamelodi sundowns, marvin boji, kaizer chiefs
Stellenbosch FC defeated Chippa United 1-0 in Tshwane. Image source: @Asidlali.
Source: Twitter

The men from the Cape are chasing history having been crowned DStv Diski Challenge, because winning the Shield will make them the first team to have won both trophies since their inception.

Read also

Former Bafana Bafana striker Katlego Mashego criticises SAFA's treatment of COSAFA Cup tournament

"The pride of the nation": South Africa praises reliable national women's team after WAFCON quarterfinal win

Banyana Banyana once again proved that they are the nation's best football team by a comfortable distance.

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ find "Recommended for you" block and enjoy!

As reported by Sports Brief, South Africa defeated Tunisia 1-0 last night's 2022 Women's Africa Cup of Nation's quarterfinal courtesy of Jermaine Seopesenwe's 14th-minute strike.

Not only did this book them a place in the semifinals next Monday, but it also ensured automatic passage to next year's FIFA Women's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.