Forgotten Man City star spotted watching club's EPL title celebration from restaurantFootball
Gundogan Makes FA Cup Final History With Early Goal Against Man Utd
- Ilkay Gundogan’s double secured FA Cup glory for Manchester City against United
- The first of the two goals was scored in the 13th second and was the fastest in FA Cup history
- The German could leave the Etihad with his contract set to expire this summer
Ilkay Gundogan scored twice on either side of Bruno Fernandes’ penalty to help Manchester City claim the FA Cup trophy against their city rivals.
German midfielder Ilkay Gundogan opened the scoring in the 13th second of the FA Cup final against rivals Manchester United at Wembley Stadium.
He volleyed home from outside the box with his right foot and left David De Gea rooted to the spot. The goal was the fastest scored in the history of the FA Cup final, according to ESPN FC.
The second goal was also a volley with his left foot in the opening stages of the second half after a clever freekick from Kevin De Bruyne fell to him on the edge of the box.
Gundogan could leave Man City
The Citizen’s captain could be set for a departure from the club at the end of this season after seven years since joining from Borussia Dortmund in 2016.
There is yet to be an agreement with the club over a contract extension with reports claiming the two parties are wide off in having a meeting point on their demands.
The 32-year-old told Manchester Evening News that the fans will be the first to know if there is an update and confirmed there are talks in the background.
Paris Saint-Germain, Bayern Munich and Barcelona are interested in signing the experienced midfielder, with the Spanish team said to be ahead of others.
Lindelof hit by an object
Sports Brief reported that Manchester United defender Victor Lindelof was hit by an object during the celebration of Bruno Fernandes’ equalising penalty.
Jack Grealish was adjudged to have handled the ball after contending for an aerial ball with Aaron Wan-Bissaka. After a VAR review, referee Paul Tierney awarded a penalty which was scored by the Portuguese international.
During the celebration, the Sweden international appears to have been caught below the eyes by an object which appeared to be lighter. Tierney immediately ordered the players away from the scene and Lindelof continued the game.